رسالة من نائب رئيس الشركة المسؤول عن الشؤون المالية

رفع كفاءة المستثمر
رأس المال وضمان تحسين
قيمة المساهم من خلال ASV

Tetsuya Nakano

نائب الرئيس للشركات

تحدد مجموعة Ajinomoto Group للسنة المالية 17-19 هدفًا للسنة المالية 2020 لرفع هامش ربح الأعمال إلى 10٪ و ROE إلى 10٪ أو أعلى ؛ ومع ذلك ، جعلت الظروف الآن من الصعب الوصول إلى هذه الأهداف في إطار الخطة المتوسطة الأجل الحالية. ولذلك تحاول المجموعة التركيز على الاستثمار المتنامي في الأعمال الأساسية بالإضافة إلى اتباع نهج إدارة ضوء الأصول الذي يعزز الاستخدام الفعال للنقد والودائع داخل المجموعة وتخصيص الموارد مثل بيع حصص السياسة بهدف ضمان ذلك يحقق هذه الأهداف خلال الفترة المتوسطة الأجل المقبلة. استعدادًا للخطة المتوسطة الأجل المقبلة ، ستبدأ المجموعة في السنة المالية 2019 في تنفيذ أكبر قدر ممكن من الإصلاح الهيكلي بهدف إعادة أعمال المجموعة إلى مسارها نحو النمو المستدام.

ملخص أداء السنة المالية 2018

  • المبيعات: ارتفع إلى 1,127.4،1 مليار ين (+ XNUMX٪ على أساس سنوي)
    نمت المبيعات بشكل كبير للتصنيع الصيدلاني المخصص والأحماض الأمينية للأدوية والأغذية ، وارتفعت أيضًا للأطعمة المجمدة والتوابل والأطعمة المصنعة.

  • أرباح الأعمال: انخفضت إلى 92.6 مليار ين (-3٪ على أساس سنوي)
    انخفضت أرباح الأعمال بشكل حاد للأطعمة المجمدة ومنتجات القهوة في اليابان وعلى المستوى الدولي ، وسجلت المجموعة خسارة انخفاض في القيمة قدرها 3.2 مليار ين على حقوق العلامات التجارية في شركة Promasidor Holdings Limited التابعة لطريقة حقوق الملكية.

  • الربح المنسوب لأصحاب الشركة الأم: انخفض إلى 29.6 مليار ين (-51٪ على أساس سنوي)
    سجلت المجموعة خسائر انخفاض قيمة الشهرة المرتبطة بشركة Ajinomoto Foods North America، Inc. وشركة Ajinomoto Istanbul Food Industry and Trade Limited Company بالإضافة إلى خسارة انخفاض قيمتها 27.9 مليار ين المرتبطة بالاستثمار في Promasidor Holdings Limited المحجوزة بموجب حسابات طريقة حقوق الملكية. .

  • العائد على حقوق المساهمين: 4.7٪ (-4.9 نقطة مئوية على أساس سنوي)

  • الأرباح الموزعة: ¥ 32 (بدون تغيير عن السنة المالية السابقة)

توقعات الأداء للسنة المالية 2019

  • المبيعات: 1,171.0 XNUMX مليار ين

  • أرباح الأعمال: 97.0 مليار ين

  • الربح المنسوب لأصحاب الشركة الأم: 50.0 مليار ين

  • العائد على حقوق المساهمين: 8.0٪

رفع العائد على حقوق المساهمين وتعظيم التدفقات النقدية التشغيلية لتعزيز قيمة المساهمين

تعطي مجموعة Ajinomoto الأولوية لزيادة العائد على حقوق المساهمين وتعظيم التدفقات النقدية التشغيلية لتعزيز قيمة المساهمين.

جهود لتعزيز قيمة المساهمين

رفع العائد على الأصول وإدارة ضوء الأصول

لتحقيق الكفاءة الرأسمالية لشركة عالمية من الدرجة العشرة الأولى في صناعة الأغذية ، يجب على المجموعة التحكم في تكاليف رأس المال ورفع العائد على حقوق الملكية أعلى بكثير من متوسط ​​التكلفة المرجح لرأس المال ، والذي يبلغ حاليًا حوالي 10٪. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية ، من الضروري رفع نسبة دوران الأصول لتحقيق قيمة مؤسسية أعلى من خلال التحسين المستمر لكفاءة رأس المال. باختصار ، من أجل زيادة العائد على حقوق المساهمين في الوضع الحالي الذي نعيش فيه ، فإنه من الصعب بشكل متزايد زيادة الأرباح إلى الحد الأقصى فقط من خلال نمو الخط الأعلى. لرفع العائد على حقوق الملكية ، تحاول المجموعة تركيز استثماراتها في النمو في الأعمال الأساسية ، وتنفيذ الإصلاح الهيكلي للحد من نسبة تكوين الشركات غير الأساسية ، وبدء إدارة ضوء الأصول لتخصيص الموارد لزيادة كفاءة رأس المال المستثمر.

سيتم تخصيص الموارد بشكل أكثر كفاءة من خلال التحكم في الديون التي تحمل فائدة عن طريق استخدام الموارد النقدية بشكل فعال داخل المجموعة ، وخفض حصص السياسة ، وإعادة تنظيم الشركات التابعة الوظيفية ومراجعة عمليات المشروع المشترك. كما سيتم تحسين إدارة النقد على المستوى الإقليمي لليابان وأمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وتايلاند ومناطق أخرى.

لزيادة كفاءة الأصول في الأعمال الأساسية ، ستركز المجموعة بشكل أقوى على العائد على الأصول في كل نشاط تجاري. في رفع كفاءة رأس المال المستثمر ، بدأت المجموعة في استخدام ROIC كمعيار جديد للهيكل المالي للمجموعة ، لذا فإن الإدارة لديها نفس منظور أصحاب المصلحة في المجموعة.

تعظيم التدفقات النقدية التشغيلية والاستثمار في النمو

تعتقد إدارة مجموعة أجينوموتو أن تعزيز قدرتها على توليد تدفقات نقدية تشغيلية ، والتي هي مصدر صناديق الاستثمار ، أمر ضروري للاستثمار في أعمالها الأساسية وتسريع نمو أعمال المجموعة. تقوم المجموعة بتطبيق إجراءات لتعزيز نمو الأعمال وتقصير دورة التحويل النقدي (CCC). في السنة المالية 2018 ، ولدت هذه الإجراءات 123.2 مليار ين في التدفقات النقدية من الأنشطة التشغيلية. تم تقصير CCC بمقدار 1.2 يوم. تتوقع المجموعة توليد نفس المبلغ تقريبًا من التدفقات النقدية التشغيلية في السنة المالية 2019.

سيستمر تخصيص الأموال التي يتم توليدها للنفقات الرأسمالية ، والبحث والتطوير ، والدمج والاستحواذ ، ولكن في السنة المالية 2019 سيكون التركيز الرئيسي في المجالات المصممة بشكل أساسي لتسريع النمو. تخطط الإدارة لزيادة تخصيص الأموال للاستثمار في نمو الأرباح إلى ما يقرب من 60٪ من 81.5 مليار ين المخطط لها في النفقات الرأسمالية.

سياسة إرجاع المساهمين

تحدد الخطة المالية للسنة المالية 17-19 سياسة أساسية لعائد المساهمين بنسبة 30٪ من عائد كل سنة مالية و 50٪ أو عائد تراكمي أعلى للمساهمين على مدى ثلاث سنوات. في السنة المالية 2018 ، قامت المجموعة بإعادة شراء ما قيمته 40 مليار ين من أسهمها القائمة ، وهو الحد الأعلى الذي حدده مجلس الإدارة. ستستمر الإدارة في تقديم عائد مستقر للمساهمين وتخطط للحفاظ على دفع الأرباح السنوية عند 32 ين لكل سهم في السنة المالية 2019.

التحضير لخطة الإدارة المتوسطة الأجل القادمة

ستعمل الخطة المتوسطة الأجل المقبلة للمجموعة على رفع كفاءة رأس المال من خلال إدارة ضوء الأصول وتعزيز التحول الرقمي الذي سيرفع الهيكل المالي للمجموعة إلى أعلى فئة عالمية 10 في صناعة المواد الغذائية.

ملخص الاستراتيجيات المالية في السنة المالية 2019 والخطة المتوسطة الأجل القادمة

زيادة حوار أصحاب المصلحة

قامت المجموعة بتوسيع حوارها مع أصحاب المصلحة من خلال زيادة اتصالاتها اليومية وعقد جلسة إحاطة تفسيرية سنوية حول تقريرها المتكامل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، عقدت المجموعة اجتماعًا توضيحيًا حول أعمال المواد الإلكترونية في يونيو 2019 وتخطط لعقد اجتماعات مماثلة حول أعمالها الأخرى.

تعتزم الإدارة جعل الحوار المستمر مع أصحاب المصلحة أكثر فائدة من خلال زيادة هذه الجهود.

Message from the Corporate Vice President in Charge of Finance

Raising the efficiency of invested
capital and ensure the improvement of
shareholder value through ASV

Tetsuya Nakano

Corporate Vice President

The Ajinomoto Group’s FY17-19 MTP sets a FY2020 target to raise the business profit margin to 10% and ROE to 10% or higher; however, circumstances have now made those targets difficult to reach under the current MTP. The Group is therefore trying to focus on growth investment in core businesses as well as taking an asset-light management approach that promotes efficient utilization of cash and deposits within the Group and resource allocation such as the sale of policy shareholdings with the objective of ensuring it attains those targets during the next MTP period. In preparation for the next MTP, in FY2019 the Group will begin implementing as much structural reform as possible aiming to get the Group’s business back on a path toward sustainable growth.

FY2018 Performance Summary

  • Sales: Increased to ¥1,127.4 billion (+1% year on year)
    Sales grew substantially for pharmaceutical custom manufacturing and amino acids for pharmaceuticals and foods, and also rose for international frozen foods, seasonings, and processed foods.

  • Business profit: Decreased to ¥92.6 billion (-3% year on year)
    Business profit fell sharply for frozen foods and coffee products in Japan and internationally, and the Group recorded an impairment loss of 3.2 billion yen on trademark rights at equity-method subsidiary Promasidor Holdings Limited.

  • Profit attributable to owners of the parent company: Decreased to ¥29.6 billion (-51% year on year)
    The Group booked impairment losses on goodwill associated with Ajinomoto Foods North America, Inc. and Ajinomoto Istanbul Food Industry and Trade Limited Company as well as an impairment loss of 27.9 billion yen associated with the investment in Promasidor Holdings Limited booked under the equity-method accounts.

  • ROE: 4.7% (-4.9 percentage points year on year)

  • Dividend: ¥32 (unchanged from the previous fiscal year)

FY2019 Performance Forecast

  • Sales: ¥1,171.0 billion

  • Business profit: ¥97.0 billion

  • Profit attributable to owners of the parent company: ¥50.0 billion

  • ROE: 8.0%

Raising ROE and Maximizing Operating Cash Flows to Enhance Shareholder Value

The Ajinomoto Group is prioritizing raising ROE and maximizing operating cash flows to enhance shareholder value.

Efforts to enhance shareholder value

Raising ROE and Asset-Light Management

To realize the capital efficiency of a global top 10 class company in the food industry, the Group must control capital costs and raise ROE well above its weighted average cost of capital, which is currently about 5%. To this end, it is essential to raise the asset turnover ratio in order to realize higher corporate value by continuously improving capital efficiency. In short, to raise ROE in the current situation we are in, it is increasingly difficult to maximize profits solely through top-line growth. To raise ROE, the Group is trying to focus its growth investment in core businesses, implementing structural reform to reduce the composition ratio of non-core businesses, and initiating asset-light management for resource allocation to increase the efficiency of invested capital.

Resources will be allocated more efficiently by controlling interest-bearing debt by effectively using cash resources within the Group, reducing policy shareholdings, reorganizing the functional subsidiaries and reviewing joint-venture operations. Cash management at the regional level for Japan, North America, Europe, Thailand, and other areas will also be improved.

To raise asset efficiency in the core businesses, the Group will put stronger focus on ROA in each business. In raising the efficiency of invested capital, the Group has begun using ROIC as a new benchmark of the Group’s financial structure so management has the same perspective as the Group’s stakeholders.

Maximizing Operating Cash Flows and Investment in Growth

The Ajinomoto Group’s management believes strengthening its ability to generate operating cash flows, which is the source of investment funds, is essential for investing in its core businesses and accelerating the Group’s business growth. The Group is implementing measures to boost business growth and shorten the cash conversion cycle (CCC). In FY2018, these measures generated 123.2 billion yen in cash flows from operating activities. The CCC was shortened by 1.2 days. The Group anticipates generating approximately the same amount of operating cash flows in FY2019.

The cash that is generated will continue to be allocated to capital expenditures, R&D, and M&A but in FY2019 the main focus will be in areas designed primarily to accelerate growth. Management is planning to increase the allocation of funds to profit growth investment to roughly 60% of its planned 81.5 billion yen in capital expenditures.

Shareholder Return Policy

The FY17-19 MTP outlines a basic policy for shareholder return of a 30% payout ratio each fiscal year and 50% or higher cumulative shareholder return over three years. In FY2018, the Group repurchased 40 billion yen worth of its outstanding shares, which was the upper limit set by the Board of Directors. Management will continue providing stable shareholder return and plans to maintain the annual dividend payment at 32 yen per share in FY2019.

Preparing for the Next Medium-Term Management Plan

The Group’s next MTP will raise capital efficiency through asset-light management and advancement of digital transformation that will lift the Group’s financial structure to the global top 10 class in the food industry.

Summary of the financial strategies in FY2019 and next MTP

Increasing Stakeholder Dialogue

The Group has been expanding its dialogue with stakeholders by increasing its daily communications and holding an annual explanatory briefing on its integrated report. In addition, the Group held an explanatory meeting about its electronic materials business in June 2019 and plans to hold similar meetings about its other businesses.

Management intends to make ongoing dialogue with stakeholders more meaningful by increasing these efforts.