AJIPHASE®

味之素集团的革命性新技术,用于制造尖端药物疗法,结合了传统制造方法的精华,可为患者提供所需的治疗。

AJIPHASE®

开发更好地治疗疾病的疗法

人类长期以来依靠药物来治愈疾病。 但是,从研发到临床试验,法规批准和商业化,新药的发现要到达患者之前还有很长的路要走。 为了更无缝地开发药品,制药公司通常会将药品生产外包给第三方。 

但是,如果在临床测试和商业化之间改变了制造过程,则必须花费时间来重新评估药物的安全性,并有延迟药物开发的风险。 味之素集团通过一种称为AJIPHASE的革命性新制造方法解决了这一问题®。 这项独特的技术使得从研发的小规模合成扩大到大规模生产的大规模合成成为可能。

味之素集团的AJIPHASE® 技术通过确保稳定的生产量,正在帮助创新药物尽可能多地覆盖患者。 AJIPHASE® 液相合成技术是由味之素株式会社开发的某些专有改进技术所增强的液相合成技术。该技术使生产具有高可扩展性的高质量化合物成为可能。

发展之路—将氨基酸技术应用于药物制造

味之素集团在氨基酸技术领域拥有超过一个世纪的研究和开发价值。 一切始于1908年,当时东京帝国大学(现为东京大学)的池田菊名博士(Kikunae Ikeda) 分离出的水晶传达了他所检测到的味道。 这些晶体是由谷氨酸制成的。谷氨酸是食品和人体中最常见的氨基酸之一。 因此,鲜味调味料AJI-NO-MOTO® 出生于。 从那以后,味之素集团利用我们对氨基酸的性质和功能的不断研究,发展了各种各样的业务。

在1980年代后期,味之素集团开始制造由制药公司开发的药物疗法。 在1990年代,我们为生产用于治疗AIDS,单纯疱疹和高血压的药物做出了贡献。 自2005年以来,味之素集团一直在寻求将我们的氨基酸技术应用于肽的合成,这些肽是许多药物的共同组成部分,即多个氨基酸的链。 在开发肽的实际生产工艺(AJIPHASE)中取得了成果®。

“锚”的突破-结合固相和液相合成的优点

固相合成一直是合成寡核苷酸和肽的主要制造工艺。 在固相合成中,反应在装有固体载体的柱中进行,试剂和溶剂从中流过。 一个延伸通常需要进行几次反应,每一步都要用溶剂洗涤,以从色谱柱上除去剩余的试剂。 尽管此过程已完全自动化且快速,但试剂和溶剂的消耗量通常比液相合成的消耗量高。 给定其他一些局限性和缺点,已知固相合成的可扩展性有限,仅实现了千克级合成。

与固相合成相反,AJIPHASE® 这项技术使用的锚固载体可溶于发生反应的有机溶剂中。 与固相合成相比,这提供了试剂在系统中的均匀分布,因此导致了更高的均一性和反应效率。 因此,与固相合成不同,AJIPHASE可以减少过量试剂的消耗® 技术。 此外,通过AJIPHASE生产肽和寡核苷酸® 可以在常规的间歇反应器中进行,这也消除了对固相合成所需的用于自动化控制的特殊设备的需要。

AJIPHASE®

固相合成和液相合成的优点相结合,为我们的制造策略提供了突破。 至关重要的是,发现可以溶解在特定有机溶剂中而不溶解在其他有机溶剂中的锚固载体为固相合成中使用的不溶性树脂珠提供了有力的替代选择。 通过加入不溶性溶剂,目标原油可以容易地在间歇反应器中沉淀。 然后可以通过过滤获得沉淀物,用不良溶剂简单洗涤可以消除反应中使用的所有试剂。 这种简单的后处理极大地促进了我们开发出一种健壮而实用的肽和寡核苷酸制造方法。

肽合成方法

此外,AJIPHASE® 使在目标化合物的合成过程中直接进行过程分析成为可能,从而可以及时进行处理。 通过严格的过程控制,活性药物成分或API的制造一次可达到几十公斤,同时仍可确保高质量。 能够合成非常小到非常大数量的API可以确保制药公司稳定的供应。 并且由于与固相合成方法相比,AJIPHASE大大减少了溶剂用量® 也是环保的。

进入下一阶段-制造基于寡核苷酸的药物疗法的挑战

并非所有药物都以相同的方式起作用。 药物疗法有不同的类型。 近年来,寡核苷酸疗法作为一种新药平台已引起人们的关注。 在某些情况下甚至对其他药物无效的疾病也有效,寡核苷酸疗法在药物和医学领域中的期望值不断提高。 例如,希望寡核苷酸治疗剂可以证明对预防先天性肌营养不良症有效。 

蛋白质由包含多达二十个不同氨基酸的肽链组成。 我们的身体产生蛋白质来构建强壮的肌肉。 但是在患有肌营养不良症的患者中,基因突变使肌肉功能所需的肌营养不良蛋白无法产生。 肌营养不良蛋白的产生导致肌肉无力,使患有这种难治性疾病的人难以行走。 肌肉无力症始于儿童时期,导致运动技能丧失,在极端情况下,还引起呼吸,吞咽甚至血液循环问题。

正常情况,突变情况

到目前为止,治疗方法包括使用小分子药物抑制肾上腺类固醇的细胞坏死或肌肉细胞死亡。 另一种是抗肌生长抑制素治疗剂,其抑制蛋白肌生长抑制素的作用,抑制肌肉发育,以维持足够的肌肉质量并促进肌肉发育。 但是,没有一种治疗方法被证明是全面的。 另一方面,寡核苷酸疗法利用这些物质的独特能力来控制我们RNA中编码的遗传信息并抑制靶蛋白的功能。 对于先天性肌营养不良症,它们可以在蛋白质复制过程中跳过突变的肌肉基因,从而促进功能性蛋白质的产生。 

从2011年开始,我们开始应用AJIPHASE® 吗啉代(一种人工寡核苷酸)的生产技术,因为该过程在化学上类似于我们为生产肽而开发的方法。 2015年,我们启动了寡核苷酸技术开发的新阶段,这是AJIPHASE®技术的下一个药物形式。 2020年,美国食品药品监督管理局批准了首个使用AJIPHASE生产的药物® 的过程。

DNA / RNA寡核苷酸,磷酸二酰胺吗啉代寡核苷酸,肽

过去十年来,寡核苷酸治疗剂获得了数项批准,可用于治疗肌肉萎缩和营养不良,因此,寡核苷酸治疗剂现在具有对神经系统疾病和其他疾病的治疗产生显著作用的潜力。 另外,预期寡核苷酸具有增强疫苗治疗诸如COVID-19的疾病的功效的潜力。 旨在扩大靶组织和器官范围的研究对核酸制药行业的未来发展具有广阔的前景。

味之素集团坚定地致力于通过释放氨基酸的力量为世界各地人民的健康做出贡献。 为了向制药公司提供寡核苷酸和其他前沿疗法,我们不懈地继续我们的研究,不仅是为了推进AJIPHASE® 技术,还可以为药物提供者和患者提供最佳技术。

有关 AJIPHASE🄬 的更多信息:

相关视频

什么是AJIPHASE®?


您可能喜欢的内容

关于味之素集团

我们的承诺我们将为全世界人民的健康做出更大的贡献,释放氨基酸解决与... ...相关的食品和健康问题的力量。

历史

吃得好,生活得好。 池田菊名(Kikunae Ikeda)于1908年发现鲜味池田菊名(Kikunae Ikeda)博士从海带提取的谷氨酸(1908)我们的发现之旅始于...

氨基酸对客户履行的好处

我们的业务

调味料和食品从调味料的起源开始,我们已经成长为领先的优质食品供应商,可提供为许多人量身定制的美味和营养食品。

AJIPHASE®

The Ajinomoto Group’s revolutionary new technology for manufacturing cutting-edge drug therapies combines the best of conventional manufacturing methods, helping deliver patients the treatments they need.

AJIPHASE®

Developing therapeutics that treat diseases better

Human beings have long depended on medicine to cure diseases. But new drug discoveries have a long road to travel before reaching patients, from research and development to clinical trials, regulatory approval, and commercialization. To develop drugs more seamlessly, it is common for pharmaceutical companies to outsource drug manufacturing to third parties. 

But if the manufacturing process is altered between clinical testing and commercialization, time must be spent to re-evaluate a drug’s safety, with a risk of delaying drug development. The Ajinomoto Group solves this problem with a revolutionary new manufacturing method called AJIPHASE®. This unique technology makes it feasible to scale up from small-scale synthesis for R&D to large-scale synthesis for mass production.

The Ajinomoto Group’s AJIPHASE® technology is helping innovative medicines reach as many patients as possible by ensuring stable production. AJIPHASE® is a liquid-phase synthesis technology augmented by certain proprietary improvements developed by Ajinomoto Co., Inc. This technology makes it possible to produce high-quality compounds with high scalability.

The Path to Development—applying amino acid technology to pharmaceutical manufacturing

The Ajinomoto Group has more than a century’s worth of research and development in the field of amino acid technology. It all began in 1908, when Dr. Kikunae Ikeda of Tokyo Imperial University (now the University of Tokyo) isolated crystals that conveyed the taste he had detected. These crystals were made of glutamate—one of the most common amino acids in foods, and in the human body. Thus, the umami seasoning AJI-NO-MOTO® was born. Since then, the Ajinomoto Group has developed a wide variety of businesses by leveraging our ongoing research into the properties and functions of amino acids.

In the late 1980s, the Ajinomoto Group began manufacturing drug therapies developed by pharmaceutical companies. During the 1990s, we contributed to the production of drugs used in the treatment of AIDS, herpes simplex and hypertension. Since 2005, the Ajinomoto Group had sought to apply our amino acid technology to the synthesis of peptides, chains of multiple amino acids that are a common component of many pharmaceuticals. This has come to fruition in the development of a practical manufacturing process for peptides—AJIPHASE®.

The “Anchor” Breakthrough—combining the merits of both solid-phase and liquid-phase syntheses

Solid-phase synthesis has been the major manufacturing process for synthesizing oligonucleotides and peptides. In solid-phase synthesis the reaction proceeds in a column charged with a solid support through which the reagents and solvents are flowed. One elongation typically requires several reactions, with a solvent wash for each step, to remove the remaining reagents from the column. Although this process has been fully automated and is rapid, the consumption of reagents and solvents is generally higher than that of liquid-phase synthesis. Given several other limitations and drawbacks, solid-phase synthesis is known to have limited scalability, with only up to kilogram-scale synthesis having been achieved.

Contrary to solid-phase synthesis, AJIPHASE® technology uses an anchor support that is soluble in the organic solvent in which the reactions take place. This provides a uniform distribution of reagents in the system, and thus results in a higher homogeneity and efficiency of the reactions compared to solid-phase synthesis. Therefore, unlike solid-phase synthesis, the consumption of excess reagents can be decreased with AJIPHASE® technology. In addition, the manufacturing of peptides and oligonucleotides via AJIPHASE® can be performed in a conventional batch reactor, which also obviates the need for special equipment for automated controls required in solid-phase synthesis.

AJIPHASE®

Combining the merits of both solid-phase synthesis and liquid-phase synthesis has provided a breakthrough in our manufacturing strategy. Crucially, the discovery of anchor supports that dissolve in a specific organic solvent but not in others provided a powerful alternative to the insoluble resin beads used in solid-phase synthesis. The target crude can be easily precipitated in a batch reactor by adding insoluble solvent. The precipitates can then be obtained by filtration, and a simple wash with poor solvents can eliminate all reagents used in reactions. This easy workup has largely contributed to our development of a robust and practical manufacturing method for peptides and oligonucleotides.

Methods of Peptide Synthesis

Moreover, AJIPHASE® makes it possible to perform process analysis directly during the synthesis of the target compound, enabling timely processing. Through stringent process control, the manufacture of active pharmaceutical ingredients, or APIs, can be performed on the order of several tens of kilograms at a time while still ensuring high quality. Being able to synthesize very small to very large quantities of API ensures drug companies a stable supply. And because the amount of solvent used is significantly reduced compared to the solid-phase synthesis method, AJIPHASE® is also environmentally friendly.

Moving to the Next Phase—the challenge of manufacturing oligonucleotide-based drug therapies

Not all medicines function the same way. Drug therapies come in different types. In recent years, oligonucleotide therapeutics have been attracting attention as a new drug platform. Effective in some cases even with diseases where other drugs have been ineffective, oligonucleotide therapeutics are raising expectations in the pharmaceutical and medicinal fields. For example, it is hoped that oligonucleotide therapeutics could prove effective against congenital muscular dystrophy. 

Proteins consist of chains of peptides that contain up to twenty different amino acids. Our bodies produce proteins to build strong muscles. But in patients with muscular dystrophy, a genetic mutation disables production of dystrophin proteins required for muscles to function. Defective dystrophin production results in muscle weakness, making it difficult for individuals with this intractable condition to walk. Muscle weakness begins in childhood, leading to loss of motor skills, and, in extreme cases, problems with breathing, swallowing, or even blood circulation.

Normal case, Mutated case

Until now, treatments have included small-molecule drugs used to suppress cell necrosis—or the death of muscle cells—with adrenal steroids. Another is anti-myostatin therapeutics that inhibit the action of the protein myostatin, which suppresses muscle development, in order to maintain adequate muscle mass and promote muscle development. However, neither treatment has proven comprehensive. Oligonucleotide therapeutics, on the other hand, make use of these substances’ unique ability to control the genetic information encoded in our RNA and to inhibit the function of target protein. In the case of congenital muscular dystrophy, they make it possible to skip mutated muscle genes during protein replication in order to encourage the production of functional proteins. 

Starting in 2011, we began to apply our AJIPHASE® technology to the manufacturing of morpholinos, one of the artificial oligonucleotides, as this process is chemically similar to the method that we developed for manufacturing peptides. In 2015, we launched a new phase for the technological development of oligonucleotides, as the next drug modality for our AJIPHASE® technology. In 2020, the United States Food and Drug Administration approved the first drug manufactured using AJIPHASE® process.

DNA/RNA Oligonucleotides, Phosphorodiamidate morpholino oligonucleotides, Peptides

With several approvals of oligonucleotide therapeutics for the treatment of muscular atrophy and dystrophy over the past decade, oligonucleotide therapeutics now hold the potential to have a remarkable effect on the treatment of neurological disorders as well as other conditions. In addition, it is expected that oligonucleotides have the potential to enhance the efficacy of vaccines for diseases such as COVID-19. Research aimed at expanding the range of target tissues and organs holds great promise for future growth in the nucleic acid pharmaceutical industry.

The Ajinomoto Group is deeply committed to contributing to the health of people around the world by unlocking the power of amino acids. In order to deliver oligonucleotide and other cutting-edge therapies to pharmaceutical companies, we are tirelessly continuing our research not only to advance AJIPHASE® technology, but also to provide the best technology for drug providers and patients alike.

For more info about AJIPHASE🄬:

Related Video

What is AJIPHASE®?


Content you may like

About the Ajinomoto Group

Our PromiseWe will contribute to greater wellness for people worldwide, unlocking the power of amino acids to resolve the food and health issues associated with ...

History

Eat Well, Live Well.Dr. Kikunae Ikeda Discovers Umami in 1908The glutamic acid extracted from kombu by Dr. Kikunae Ikeda (1908)Our journey of discovery began with ...

Benefits Of Amino Acids For Customers Fulfillment

Our Businesses

Seasoning and FoodsFrom our origins in seasonings, we have grown into a leading provider of quality foods, offering deliciousness and nutrition tailored to the many ...