氨基指數®

利用氨基酸提供非侵入性的早期癌症檢測

氨基酸譜可作為癌症篩查的標誌

資料來源:國家癌症中心癌症信息服務處

日本的癌症篩查率通常低於美國或英國。 例如,日本的子宮頸癌篩查率約為15%,美國和英國約為80%,日本之所以如此之低,其原因之一就是人們顯然認為篩查非常複雜且費時。 此外,傳統的診斷成像和腫瘤標誌物測試也有局限性-通常只有在腫瘤生長後才能進行檢測和診斷,並且在一次篩選過程中只能檢查一種癌症。

為了通過篩查及早發現癌症來挽救生命,需要更簡單,更有效的檢查和測試方法。 味之素集團開發了AminoIndex®癌症篩查(AICS®)來滿足這一需求。

注意:以上篩選率基於2007年《日本地區老年人公共衛生服務和健康服務報告》,美國疾病預防控制中心(CDC)在美國發布的2008年BRFF(行為危險因素監視系統)數據以及年度報告( 2009年)由英國NHS癌症篩查程序員發布

血液氨基酸濃度曲線-一種新的生物標記

胰腺癌患者與健康個體的血液氨基酸水平

氨基酸一直是味之素集團研發的核心,對血液中氨基酸的分析是我們對食品,藥品和其他物質的生理功能進行基礎研究的一部分。 眾所周知,血漿中的氨基酸水平在各種疾病的過程中會發生變化。 我們決定研究血液氨基酸濃度的變化作為潛在的生物標誌物。
由於個體差異較大且難以進行氨基酸分析,因此該方法僅用於先天性代謝疾病,肝臟疾病和類似疾病的臨床檢測。 在2000年,味之素集團的研發團隊將注意力轉移到血漿氨基酸譜上,期望這些譜圖可以使更廣泛的健康相關分析成為可能。 這導致了AminoIndex®服務的發展,AminoIndex®服務是世界上第一個對血液中氨基酸平衡進行分析的指標,可作為總體健康狀況以及其他可能疾病的指標。

兩項技術創新為商業發展開闢了道路

AminoIndex®通過結合公司的兩項技術優勢而誕生。 一種是生物信息學,它可以對血液中的氨基酸濃度進行有效的統計分析和索引。 另一種是用於快速和高度敏感的氨基酸分析的技術。 基於2002年研發團隊提出的一個概念,該新方法最終將氨基酸樣品的液相色譜(LC)分析所需的時間從2小時縮短到大約7分鐘。 實質上,該方法通過在液相色譜/質譜(LC / MS)中利用基於質量的分離來縮短分析時間。 通過在分離之前將氨基酸衍生化,可以實現極為精確的定量分析。

血漿中氨基酸的測量

與醫療機構一起收集證據

使用氨基酸進行癌症篩查的概念和方法都是全新的。 因此,證明其有效性的經驗數據至關重要。 與我們有共同目標的減少癌症死亡發生率的機構的醫生合作彙編了所需數據。 它證實了對於胃癌,肺癌,大腸癌,胰腺癌,前列腺癌,乳腺癌,子宮癌和卵巢癌,癌症患者血液氨基酸水平的分佈與健康個體不同。 這導致針對每種癌症類型引入了AminoIndex®癌症篩查(AICS®)系統。

AminoIndex®的擴展領域

AminoIndex®癌症篩查(AICS®)的利用正在迅速發展,它能夠利用一個5 mL血液樣本同時篩查多種癌症類型。 日本的醫療機構有1,077個設施(截至2016年XNUMX月)正在使用它,味之素集團正在努力實現每年為數十萬人提供篩查服務的目標。 海外業務也在發展中。 此外,正在建立AminoIndex®技術和服務以篩查代謝綜合徵,糖尿病,脂肪肝和其他與生活方式有關的疾病的工作正在進行中。 研發也正朝著將其應用於運動員和老年人健康管理的方向發展。 通過這種方式和其他方式,味之素集團正在擴大疾病預防和緩解的可能性範圍,以改善世界各地人民的健康。

Unlocking the power of amino acids to resolve food and health issues

The Ajinomoto Group, unlocking the power of amino acids, aims to resolve the food and health issues
associated with dietary habits and aging, and contribute to greater wellness for people worldwide.

AminoIndex®

Leveraging amino acids to deliver non-invasive, early cancer detection

The amino acid profile as a marker for cancer screening

Source: Cancer Information Service, National Cancer Center

Screening rates for cancer are generally lower in Japan than in the United States or the United Kingdom. For example, the rate for cervical cancer screening is about 15% in Japan and about 80% in the U.S. and the U.K. One reason for Japan’s low rate is an apparent perception that screening is complicated and time consuming. In addition, there are limitations to conventional diagnostic imaging and tumor marker tests—detection and diagnosis generally become possible only when a tumor has grown, and only one type of cancer can be examined in a single screening procedure.

To save lives by early detection of cancer through screening requires simpler, more efficient methods of examination and testing. AminoIndex® Cancer Screening (AICS®) has been developed by the Ajinomoto Group to address this need.

Note: Screening rates above are based on data from the 2007 Report on Regional Public Health Services and Health Services for the Aged in Japan, the 2008 BRFF (Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System) issued by the CDC in the U.S., and the Annual Report (2009) issued by the NHS Cancer Screening Programmers in the U.K.

Blood amino acid concentration profile — a new biomarker

Blood amino acid levels in pancreatic cancer patients vs. healthy individuals

Amino acids have long been at the core of R&D in the Ajinomoto Group, with analysis of amino acids in the blood being part of our basic research into the physiological functions of foods, pharmaceuticals, and other substances. It is known that amino acid levels in plasma change during the course of various diseases. We decided to investigate variations in blood amino acid concentrations as a potential biomarker.
Because of large individual differences and the difficulty of reproducing amino acid analyses, this has only been used in clinical testing for congenital metabolic disorders, liver diseases, and similar disorders. In 2000, the Ajinomoto Group’s R&D team turned its attention to plasma amino acid profiles with the expectation that these profiles could make possible a wider range of health-related analyses. This led to the development of the AminoIndex® service, the world’s first analysis of amino acid balance in the blood as an indicator of general health as well as other possible disorders.

Two technological innovations open the way for commercial development

AminoIndex® was born by combining two of the company’s technical strengths. One was bioinformatics, which enables effective statistical analyses and indexing of amino acid concentrations in the blood. The other was a technology for rapid and highly sensitive analysis of amino acids. Based on a concept that emerged from the R&D team in 2002, the new method ultimately shortened the time required for liquid chromatography (LC) analysis of an amino acid sample from 2 hours to about 7 minutes. In essence, the method shortens analysis time by utilizing mass-based separation in liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry (LC/MS). By derivatizing the amino acids prior to separation, extremely accurate quantitative analysis was attained.

Measurement of amino acids in plasma

Gathering evidence together with healthcare institutions

Both the concept and method of cancer screening using amino acids were completely new. Empirical data to prove their validity was, therefore, essential. Doctors at facilities that shared our objective of reducing the incidence of cancer deaths cooperated in compiling the required data. It confirmed that for stomach, lung, colorectal, pancreas, prostate, breast, uterine and ovarian cancers, the profiles of blood amino acid levels in cancer patients differed from those of healthy individuals. This led to the introduction of the AminoIndex® Cancer Screening (AICS®) system for each of these cancer types.

The expanding domain of AminoIndex®

Utilization of AminoIndex® Cancer Screening (AICS®), with its capability of concurrent screening for multiple cancer types with a single 5 mL blood sample, is growing rapidly. It is used by 1,077 facilities (as of February 2016) at medical institutions in Japan, where the Ajinomoto Group is working toward the goal of servicing screenings for several hundred thousand people a year. Overseas operations are also in development. In addition, work is in progress to establish AminoIndex® technology and services to screen for metabolic syndrome, diabetes, fatty liver, and other life style-related disorders. R&D is also advancing toward its application to health management for athletes and the elderly. In this and other ways, the Ajinomoto Group is expanding the range of possibilities for disease prevention and mitigation, to improve the health of people around the world.