酶技術將生命中必不可少的蛋白質用於提供可持續的全球食品解決方案

什麼是酶?

酶是維持生命所必需的蛋白質。 存在於包括微生物在內的所有生物中,酶是催化劑,這意味著它們可以加速各種類型的反應。 例如,在體內,參與消化的酶會代謝食物,為重要的生物過程提供能量。

僅在人體中,從唾液到胃和肝臟,到處都可以找到超過 3,000 種酶。 有些可以分解酒精,有些可以維持皮膚細胞。 每種酶都有獨特的形狀,決定了它可以與哪種物質或底物發生反應。 為了發生反應,底物分子必須與酶活性位點的形狀精確匹配——就像鑰匙適合鎖一樣。 由於它們的特殊性質,大多數酶只能催化一種類型的反應。 降解酶是分解脂肪、蛋白質或碳水化合物(如糖和澱粉)分子的酶。 其他類型的酶將底物分子結合在一起。 由於這些反應使酶保持不變,因此只要保持最佳溫度和 pH 條件,它們就可以反複使用。 如果沒有這些最佳條件,酶的反應性會降低或變性。

米粒上生長的曲霉(Aspergillus oryzae)

自古以來,人類就利用微生物(如黴菌)中的酶的力量來協助食品生產。 例如,酶對於發酵至關重要,它可以保存食物並使它們更有營養和美味。 通過發酵,牛奶、穀物和水果等原料被轉化為奶酪、酸奶和各種酒精飲料。 酶通過液化和糖化澱粉來加速發酵,即將其分解成糖。 在日本,在大米和其他穀物上自然形成的曲霉中發現的酶已被用於製作醬油、味噌、清酒和其他由大米、大麥和大豆製成的發酵食品。 有了酶,有限的食物資源可以進一步延伸,產生各種各樣的最終產品。

隨著時間的推移,隨著發酵技術的進步,酶的功能也得到了更好的理解。 直到最近,食品工業使用的大部分酶都是降解酶,例如在肉類加工中,蛋白質降解酶長期以來一直被用於嫩化牛排和漢堡包。 但較新的研究開闢了一系列應用,利用某些酶將分子結合在一起並促進某些食物的彈性和緊實度的能力。 正是出於這個原因,味之素集團將注意力轉向了轉谷氨酰胺酶。

了解更多關於發酵如何保存和改善食物的信息

什麼是轉谷氨酰胺酶?

轉谷氨酰胺酶是一種酶,可將體內的蛋白質結合成聚合物,使其成為製造屏障和穩定結構(如皮膚)必不可少的物質。 與幾個世紀以來已知的其他酶不同,它僅在 1950 年代後期才首次被描述和命名。

1980 年,味之素的一個研發團隊開始研究一種由大豆蛋白製成的早期植物肉。 用大豆蛋白開發肉類的一個挑戰一直是難以重現動物蛋白的質地。 在尋找能夠賦予大豆蛋白所需的彈性和緊實度的物質時,味之素集團的研究人員發現了一種稱為轉谷氨酰胺酶的酶。 這導致揭示了這種酶在氨基酸谷氨酰胺和賴氨酸的殘基側鏈之間形成共價鍵的潛力。 這種反應使蛋白質凝結成更大的蛋白質,並使得製造大豆蛋白成為可能,其特徵在於類似於動物蛋白的強而有彈性的蛋白質纖維。

 

由於轉谷氨酰胺酶與多種蛋白質發生反應,因此可用於廣泛的食品應用。 例如,酪蛋白酸鈉溶液——一種在牛奶中發現的蛋白質,即使在加熱時也能抵抗膠凝——當用轉谷氨酰胺酶處理時,它可以在室溫下發生膠凝。 這對酸奶和奶酪的生產具有重要意義。 此外,由於轉谷氨酰胺酶在高於 0°C 的溫度下具有活性,並且具有 5.0 至 8.0 的廣泛最佳 pH 範圍,因此它可用於從香腸和肉餅到麵條、豆腐和預製食品的食品應用。

ACTIVA®️——世界上第一個用於食品應用的轉谷氨酰胺酶製劑

1987 年,味之素集團及其研究合作夥伴首次通過使用傳統微生物的發酵工藝大規模生產轉谷氨酰胺酶。 這導致了 1993 年 ACTIVA® 的商業化,這是世界上第一條用於食品應用的微生物轉谷氨酰胺酶製劑。

將 ACTIVA® 作為轉谷氨酰胺酶製劑(酶與其他食品材料的混合物)而非純酶形式進行營銷,幫助公司輕鬆地將食品酶技術應用於食品加工。 此外,由於轉谷氨酰胺酶的反應性因蛋白質底物的類型而異——與牛奶、肉類和大豆蛋白的反應比與蛋清的反應更好——通過混合選定的子試劑,ACTIVA® 的反應速度和成本性能得到進一步提高,或食品材料,針對每種食品應用進行了優化。 同樣,這種酶製劑技術也提高了其他性能指標,例如質地、成型性和抑制食物隨時間變質的能力。 ACTIVA® 可以塗抹在切肉和輔料的表面,或在凝固前與碎肉混合。 通過這種方式,少量的肉可以分層、成型或模製成肉捲、肉塊或肉餅和肉塊等產品。

此後,味之素集團繼續開發進一步的應用和新的酶製劑,以增強轉谷氨酰胺酶的功能,以滿足食品行業的需求。 除了麵包、麵條和植物性蛋白質產品外,它目前正在全球範圍內開發一系列產品,以改善各種肉類、奶製品和海鮮產品的質地、抑制隨著時間的推移降解並增強可成型性。

 

通過全面、可持續的解決方案,毫不妥協地提供健康和營養

味之素集團通過將轉谷氨酰胺酶和其他酶與各種食品原料相結合,不斷擴展其食品酶解決方案。 雖然普通的降解酶通常會通過分解蛋白質來破壞肉類的天然質地,但本集團已開發出專有的酶處理方法,可在不犧牲天然質地的情況下使肉類嫩化,從而生產出具有食品生產商和消費者所需的口感等物理特性的高質量產品。 其他產品致力於打破大米中的澱粉鏈,以增加保水性而不損失質地,通過防止澱粉在儲存過程中回生來提高產量並延長保質期。

這些先進的酶技術有助於提高食品生產力、降低成本和更有效地利用食品資源。 特別是,味之素集團一直是粘合配方的先驅,這些配方徹底改變了用於燒烤和燒烤等應用的成型肉的生產方式。 通常,切大塊肉會產生大量最終被浪費的輔料。 但在加工前使用酶處理將肉塊在模具中粘合在一起,可以產生更均勻的肉片,減少食物損失並提高生產效率。 食品酶現在也用於不太常見的應用,例如魚丸等海鮮產品,並開闢了一系列進一步的可能性。

但酶的力量並不止於此。 隨著人口老齡化等社會變化,味之素的食品酶解決方案也在不斷發展並尋找新的食品應用,例如易於食用的無骨魚片,這在醫院有很高的需求。 酶製劑也被用於開發更具健康意識的食品,因為它們可以彌補肉和魚中鹽或磷酸鹽減少時通常導致的質地損失。

與利用味之素集團專有的味道和風味應用相結合 鮮味 及 國久美 應用方面,集團的酶技術在提供全面的食品解決方案方面發揮著重要作用,這些解決方案在不影響口味的情況下促進全球健康和營養。 此外,它們越來越多地被用作清潔標籤材料 植物蛋白產品 並因其為可持續發展做出貢獻的能力而受到關注。

Unlocking the power of amino acids to resolve food and health issues

The Ajinomoto Group, unlocking the power of amino acids, aims to resolve the food and health issues
associated with dietary habits and aging, and contribute to greater wellness for people worldwide.


您可能喜歡的內容

用kokumi烹飪更多美味又健康的食物

您是否曾經在切洋蔥時哭過,或者磨碎了一瓣大蒜只是使氣味在手指上停留了幾個小時? ...

什麼是氨基酸製成

什麼是乳糖發酵? 微生物可以保存食物

喝牛奶有很多好處所有的雌性哺乳動物都會產奶來養育它們的幼崽。 人類的獨特之處在於我們中的一些人繼續食用牛奶......

以植物為基礎的蛋白質蓬勃發展:可持續未來的解決方案

我們都想為我們的健康和地球做最好的事情。 我們鍛煉得更多,吃營養均衡的飯菜,並減少我們的環境足跡。 和 ...

Enzyme technologies putting life’s essential proteins to work to deliver sustainable global food solutions

What are enzymes?

Enzymes are proteins essential for maintaining life. Present in all living things, including microorganisms, enzymes are catalysts, meaning they speed up various types of reactions. In the body, for example, enzymes involved in digestion metabolize food, providing energy for vital biological processes.

In the human body alone, there are over 3,000 types of enzymes that are found everywhere from saliva to the stomach and liver. Some work to break down alcohol, others to maintain skin cells. Each type of enzyme has a unique shape that determines what kind of substance, or substrate, it can react with. For a reaction to take place, the substrate molecules must precisely match the shape of the enzyme’s active site—the way a key fits a lock. Due to their specialized nature, most enzymes can catalyze just one type of reaction. Degradative enzymes are ones that split apart molecules of fat, protein, or carbohydrates like sugar and starch. Other types of enzymes bind substrate molecules together. Because enzymes are left unchanged by these reactions, they can be used again and again, provided optimal temperature and pH conditions are maintained. Absent these optimal conditions, enzymes become less reactive, or denatured.

Koji mold (Aspergillus oryzae) growing on rice grains

Since ancient times, humans have harnessed the power of enzymes like those found in microorganisms such as mold to assist with food production. Enzymes are essential for fermentation, for example, which preserves foods and makes them more nutritious and delicious. Through fermentation, raw ingredients like milk, grain, and fruit are converted into cheese, yogurt, and a variety of alcoholic beverages. Enzymes speed up fermentation by liquefying and saccharifying starch, namely breaking it down into sugars. In Japan, enzymes found in koji mold—which forms naturally on rice and other grains—have been utilized for centuries to make soy sauce, miso, sake, and other fermented foods out of rice, barley, and soybeans. With enzymes, limited food resources can be stretched farther, yielding a diverse array of final products.

Over time, as fermentation technology has advanced, the functions of enzymes have also come to be better understood. Until recently, degradative enzymes comprised the majority of enzymes used by the food industry, such as in meat processing, where protein-degrading enzymes have long been used to tenderize steaks and hamburgers. But newer research has opened up a range of applications that take advantage of the ability of certain enzymes to bind molecules together and promote elasticity and firmness in some foods. It was for this reason that the Ajinomoto Group turned its attention to transglutaminase.

Learn more about how fermentation preserves and improves foods

What is transglutaminase?

Transglutaminase is an enzyme that binds proteins in the body into polymers, making it indispensible for creating barriers and stable structures such as skin. Unlike other enzymes that have been known for centuries, it was first described and named only in the late 1950s.

In 1980, one of Ajinomoto’s R&D teams began working on an early form of plant-based meat made from soy protein. One challenge to developing meat from soy protein had always been the difficulty of recreating the texture of animal protein. While searching for a substance capable of imparting the required elasticity and firmness to soy protein, Ajinomoto Group researchers discovered an enzyme called transglutaminase. This led to revealing the potentiality of this enzyme to form covalent bonds between residue side chains of the amino acids glutamine and lysine. This reaction allows proteins to coagulate into larger proteins and makes it possible to create soy protein characterized by strong, elastic protein fibers similar to those of animal protein.

 

Because transglutaminase reacts with a wide variety of proteins, it is useful in a broad range of food applications. Sodium caseinate solution, for example—a protein found in milk that is resistant to gelling even when heated—can be caused to gel at room temperature when treated with transglutaminase. This has had important implications for yogurt and cheese production. Moreover, since transglutaminase is active at temperatures above 0°C and has a wide optimal pH range of 5.0 to 8.0, it can be utilized in food applications ranging from sausages and meat patties to noodles, tofu, and prepared foods.

ACTIVA®️—the world's first transglutaminase preparation for food applications

In 1987, the Ajinomoto Group and its research partner succeeded, for the first time ever, in mass-producing transglutaminase through a fermentation process using a conventional microorganism. This led to the commercialization in 1993 of ACTIVA®, the world’s first line of microbial transglutaminase preparations for food applications.

Marketing ACTIVA® as transglutaminase preparations—mixtures of the enzyme with other food materials—rather than in pure enzyme form, helped companies to easily apply food enzyme technology in their food processing. Moreover, as the reactivity of transglutaminase varies depending on the type of protein substrate—reacting better with milk, meat, and soy protein than with egg white—the reaction rate and cost performance of ACTIVA® was further enhanced by blending selected sub-agents, or food materials, optimized for each type of food application. Similarly, other performance metrics such as texture, moldability, and ability to inhibit deterioration of food over time were also improved by this enzyme preparation technology. ACTIVA® can be rubbed onto the surface of meat cuts and trimmings or mixed with ground meat before being allowed to set. In this way, small quantities of meat can be layered, shaped, or molded into products such as meat rolls, meat chunks, or meat patties and nuggets.

The Ajinomoto Group has since gone on to develop further applications and new enzyme preparations that enhance the functions of transglutaminase in response to food industry needs. It is currently developing a worldwide range of products to improve texture, inhibit degradation over time, and enhance formability in a wide range of meat, dairy, and seafood products, in addition to bread, noodles, and plant-based protein products.

 

Delivering health and nutrition without compromise through total, sustainable solutions

The Ajinomoto Group has been expanding its food enzyme solutions by combining not only transglutaminase but also other enzymes with various food materials. While ordinary degradative enzymes typically destroy the natural texture of meat by breaking down proteins, the Group has developed proprietary enzyme treatments that tenderize meat without sacrificing its natural texture, yielding high quality products with physical properties such as mouthfeel that food producers and consumers demand. Other products work to break up starch chains in rice to increase water retention without loss of texture, both improving production yields and extending shelf life by preventing retrogradation of starch during storage.

These advanced enzyme technologies are contributing to better food productivity, cost reduction, and more efficient use of food resources. In particular, the Ajinomoto Group has been a pioneer in bonding formulations that are revolutionizing the way shaped meat is produced for applications like grilling and barbecuing. Typically, slicing large cuts of meat generates significant quantities of trimmings that end up being wasted. But using enzyme treatments to bond meat cuts together in a mold before processing yields more uniform slices of meat, decreasing food loss and boosting production efficiency. Food enzymes are now also used in less common applications, such as seafood products like fish balls, and opening up a range of further possibilities.

But the power of enzymes does not end there. Along with societal changes such as an aging population, Ajinomoto’s food enzyme solutions are evolving and finding new food applications like easy-to-eat boneless fish fillets, which are in high demand at hospitals. Enzyme preparations are also being used to develop more health-conscious foods, as they can compensate for the loss of texture that commonly results when salt or phosphates are reduced in meat and fish.

In conjunction with taste and flavor applications that utilize the Ajinomoto Group’s proprietary umami and kokumi applications, the Group’s enzyme technologies have an important role to play in offering comprehensive food solutions that promote global health and nutrition without compromising taste. In addition, they are increasingly being used as clean label materials in plant-based protein products and attracting attention for their ability to contribute to sustainability.


Content you may like

Cooking up more delicious and healthy foods with kokumi

Have you ever cried while cutting an onion, or grated a clove of garlic only to have the smell linger on your fingers for hours? ...

What Are Amino Acids Made Of

What is lactose fermentation? microorganisms can preserve foods

Milk consumption has many benefitsAll female mammals produce milk to nurture their young. Humans are unique in that some of us continue to consume milk ...

Thriving on plant-based protein: solutions for a sustainable future

We all want to do what’s best for our health and the planet. We’re exercising more, eating nutrition-balanced meals, and reducing our environmental footprint. With ...