小泉物质

Kokumi为咸味产品(例如炖了几个小时的炖菜)提供了丰富的背景,圆润度和复杂性。 它们具有巨大的潜力,可以在不牺牲风味的前提下提供更多我们想要的东西,减少我们不需要的东西。

国民党的感觉*

科米创新

公认有五种基本口味:咸,甜,酸,苦和鲜。 但是似乎我们对味觉的理解比这个简单事实所暗示的要多。 例如,当汤或炖煮的食物炖了几个小时后,它会呈现出更浓郁,更深的味道。 当奶酪成熟后,其风味会变得更加复杂持久。 是什么原因导致这种增加的美味?

制作快速食谱

在池田喜乃惠博士确认鲜味之后的一个多世纪中,味之素集团一直在研究口味以及我们如何看待它们。 在1980年代,我们开始研究洋葱和大蒜对这么多美味菜肴的影响,这与鲜味大不相同。 许多人将这种感觉描述为 国久美*. 小久美*是日语单词,字面意思是“味道浓郁”。 鲜味可带来咸味或肉感, 国久美*是一种丰富,浓郁和复杂的感觉,与葡萄酒的陈年和随着时间的推移而有所改善。 虽然 国久美 这些物质没有自己的味道,它们似乎使其他食物具有味道和更好的感觉,不仅增强了鲜味,还增强了咸味和甜味。

什么是小泉?

尽管“国久美*”已经在食品行业中讨论了一段时间,但几乎没有以科学的方式来利用食品的力量。 kokumi *。 然后味之素集团的研究 国久美 大蒜等食物中的多种物质导致分离出称为谷胱甘肽的肽或氨基酸链。 在1990年,我们发布了含有谷胱甘肽的风味改良剂,商标名称为Yeast Extract,目前可作为Super YE和SavorBoost™获得。 这些产品源自酵母,可赋予食物丰富和丰富的身体。 但是味之素集团仍然有很多工作要做,因为谷胱甘肽不是很稳定并且很容易蒸发,因此它不是理想的液体形式。 探索 国久美 物质才刚刚起步,我们的制药专业知识被证明具有不可估量的价值

谷胱甘肽与大蒜分离

了解Kokumi的风味化学

突破:了解kokumi *的感知

已经怀疑谷胱甘肽肽会激活舌头上的钙敏感受体。 味之素研究小组假设钙受体激活与肝细胞的感觉知觉之间存在相关性。 kokumi *。 我们认为,钙受体激活可能是感知钙的基础。 kokumi *,其他氨基酸和肽也可能会激活钙受体,可能比谷胱甘肽更有效。 因此,在2005年,我们开始在实验室进行细胞分析测试,并进行涉及数十种氨基酸和肽组合的真实世界的感官活性试验。 我们的假设得到了证实,我们的2010年研究表明,实验室测试和真实世界的实验证明,钙受体激活与由C触发的感觉活性之间存在相似之处 国久美 物质。 相反,当钙受体激活被抑制时, kokumi * 减少了。 相关性很明显-晴雨表起作用了。

寻找其他 国久美 物质已开启。 到2010年,味之素研究小组已经发现了许多所谓的γ-谷氨酰胺肽,它们可以激活舌头上的钙受体。 最强大的一种称为γ-谷氨酰基-戊基-甘氨酸或γ-EVG。 在对照研究中,这种特殊的肽增强的咸味,盐和甜味至少是谷胱甘肽的10倍以上,并且高度稳定。 事实证明这很有效 国久美 许多食物中都含有这种物质:酵母,扇贝,鱼露,酱油,虾酱,奶酪,甚至啤酒。 并且已经在酵母中揭示了合成它的天然机理。 2010年,当美国调味料和提取物制造商协会批准γ-EVG时,味之素集团的发现获得了信任投票,粮农组织/世卫组织食品添加剂联合专家委员会表示,它不存在安全问题。

下一个任务是弄清楚添加到食品中的γ-EVG的好处。 在全球范围内使用各种食物进行了味觉测试,以评估 国久美 肽对风味的影响。 在旧金山建立的测试小组表明,鸡汤中添加了极少量的味精和味精,使汤的味道更加浓郁,鲜味增强,似乎充满了整个嘴巴,这种品质称为“口感”。 我们还评估了γ-EVG使低脂食品更可口的潜力。

味道和气味

上海市的味觉测试人员被要求比较含脂和不含脂的低脂花生酱。 国久美 肽添加。 结果表明该肽既增强了花生风味,又赋予了余味,让人回味无穷。 在华盛顿州普尔曼(Pullman)进行的类似奶酪酱的口味测试得出的结果表明,奶酪的口味和香气更浓郁,酱的味道更浓。

低脂花生酱

Kokumi有益于健康和风味

kokumi *的好处

小久美 现在,味之素集团的各种产品都使用了这种物质,包括汤料和加工食品。 2017年,我们发布了一种基于γ-EVG的调味剂,称为Kokumiddle™。 Kokumiddle™非常适合糖果,因为即使长时间留在食物中也没有香气。 它还使柑橘类口味更新鲜,掩盖食品中的苦涩味。 γ-EVG的其他有希望的应用包括低脂蛋c和沙拉酱。

使用的主要健康益处 国久美 用作风味改良剂的物质可增强口味,同时减少膳食脂肪,盐和糖。 研究 国久美 味之素集团内部的各种物质正在扩大和加深,并通过开放创新合作将食品科学家与分子生物学家,神经生物学家以及其他可能有助于进一步阐明与之相关的机制的人们联系起来 kokumi * 知觉。 目标是为全世界注重健康的饮食者提供更好的福利。

幸美* 可能抱有更大的希望。 随着年龄的增长,另一个好处可能是刺激食欲。 老年人倾向于失去嗅觉和味觉,导致食物摄入减少和营养不良。 还有一些潜在的可持续性好处,即使很小一部分 国久美 诸如γ-EVG之类的物质可以显着增强风味,从而可以节省食物资源。

味之素集团继续研究 国久美 物质并探索味觉特征,努力为世界各地的人们带来更多的健康和生活方式益处。 小久美 物质在不牺牲风味的前提下具有提供更多我们想要的东西和减少我们不需要的东西的巨大潜力。 没有什么比美味更能鼓励健康饮食了。

*在多篇科学论文中, 国久美 物质定义为添加到食品中时会改变基本口味或口感,连续性或复杂性的物质,尽管它们在测试浓度下没有味道。 在本文中,感官效应是由 国久美 物质表示为“国久美“或”国久美 感觉”。

氨基酸的前沿研究

味之素集团与世界分享了鲜味使食物变得更好的力量,同时也揭开了厚味的丰富秘密。 味之素集团不断进行研究和开发,以释放氨基酸的力量并增强食物的味道。

鲜味:第五味

1907 年,日本科学家发现了五种基本口味之一的鲜味。 什么是与甜味、咸味、酸味或苦味完全不同的味道的鲜味? 我们将探索关于鲜味的一切,从它的发现历史、美味食谱到对其减盐益处的高级研究。

查找解决方案:

相关文章:

Kokumi substances

They hold great potential for delivering more of what we want and reducing what we don’t need, without sacrificing flavor.

The Kokumi Sensation*

It’s well established that there are five basic tastes: salty, sweet, sour, bitter, and umami. But there seems to be more to how we perceive taste than this simple fact would suggest. For example, when a soup or a stew has simmered for several hours, it takes on a richer, deeper flavor. And when cheese is allowed to mature, its flavor becomes more complex and lasting. What accounts for this form of enhanced deliciousness?

For over a century following Dr. Kikunae Ikeda’s identification of umami, the Ajinomoto Group has been researching tastes and how we perceive them. In the 1980s, we began investigating what onions and garlic bring to so many flavorful dishes, something quite different from umami. Many have described the sensation as kokumi*. Kokumi* is a Japanese word literally meaning “rich taste”. While umami imparts savory flavor or meatiness, kokumi* is a sense of richness, body and complexity that some compare to the way wines age and improve over time. Although kokumi substances have no taste of their own, they seem to make other foods taste and feel better, enhancing not only umami but also salty and sweet flavors.

Though the term “kokumi*” had been discussed in the food industry for some time, little had been done in a scientific way to leverage the power of kokumi*. Then the Ajinomoto Group’s research into kokumi substances in foods like garlic led to the isolation of a peptide, or chain of amino acids, called glutathione. In 1990 we released a flavor modifier containing glutathione under the brand name Yeast Extract, now available as Super YE and SavorBoost™. Derived from yeast, these products impart richness and body to foods. But the Ajinomoto Group still had plenty of work to do, for glutathione is not highly stable and readily evaporates, so it’s not ideally suited for use in liquid form. The exploration of kokumi substances was just getting started, and our pharmaceutical expertise was to prove invaluable.

A breakthrough: understanding the perception of kokumi*

It was already suspected that the peptide glutathione activates calcium sensing receptors on the tongue. The Ajinomoto Group hypothesized a correlation between calcium receptor activation and the sensory perception of kokumi*. We believed that calcium receptor activation could be a basis of perception of kokumi*, and that other amino acids and peptides might activate calcium receptors too, possibly more powerfully and efficiently than glutathione. So, in 2005 we began cell assay testing in the lab coupled with real-world sensory activity trials involving dozens of amino acid and peptide combinations. Our hypothesis was borne out, and our 2010 study showed that laboratory tests and real-world trials demonstrated a parallel between calcium receptor activation and the sensory activity triggered by kokumi substances. Conversely, when calcium receptor activation was suppressed, the sensory intensity of kokumi* decreased. The correlation was clear—the barometer worked.

The search for other kokumi substances was on. By 2010 the Ajinomoto Group had identified a number of so-called gamma-glutamyl peptides that activate calcium receptors on the tongue. The most powerful one is known as gamma-glutamyl-valyl-glycine, or γ-EVG. In controlled studies, this particular peptide intensified savory, salt, and sweet flavors at least 10 times more than glutathione, and it is highly stable. It turns out this potent kokumi substance is found in many foods: yeast, scallops, fish sauce, soy sauce, shrimp paste, cheese, and even beer. And the natural mechanism by which it is synthesized has been revealed in yeast. In 2010 the Ajinomoto Group’s discovery got a vote of confidence when the US Flavor and Extract Manufacturers Association approved γ-EVG, and the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives stated that it presents no safety concerns.

The next task was to clarify the benefits γ-EVG offers when added to foods. Taste tests were performed around the world, using various foods, to assess the kokumi peptide’s impact on flavor. Testing panels set up in San Francisco showed very small amounts added along with MSG to chicken broth gave the broth a more full-bodied flavor and a heightened sense of umami that seems to fill the entire mouth, a quality called “mouthfulness.” We also assessed the potential of γ-EVG to make low-fat foods more palatable.

Taste-testers in Shanghai were asked to compare reduced-fat peanut butter with and without the kokumi peptide added. The results showed the peptide both enhanced peanut flavor and imparted a lingering aftertaste and the kind of satisfying, buttery flavor that people enjoy. Similar taste tests in Pullman, Washington with cheese sauces produced results showing a cheesier flavor and aroma and a thicker feel to the sauce.

The benefits of kokumi*

Kokumi substances are now used in a wide range of Ajinomoto Group products, including soup stock and processed foods. In 2017 we released a γ-EVG-based flavor modifier called Kokumiddle™. Kokumiddle™ is perfect for sweets because it has no scent even when left in foods over time. It also makes citrus flavors taste fresher and masks bitterness or astringency in foods. Other promising applications of γ-EVG include low-fat custards and salad dressings.

The key health benefit of using kokumi substances as flavor modifiers is enhancing taste while reducing dietary fat, salt, and sugar. Research into kokumi substances is broadening and deepening within the Ajinomoto Group and through open innovation collaboration linking food scientists with molecular biologists, neural biologists, and others who may help further clarify the mechanisms involved in kokumi* perception. The goal is to provide improved benefits to health-conscious eaters worldwide.

Kokumi* may hold even more promise. Another benefit could be in stimulating appetite as we age. Older people show a tendency to lose their sense of smell and taste, leading to reduced food intake and poorer nutrition. There are also potential sustainability benefits, as even very small amounts of a kokumi substance like γ-EVG can significantly enhance flavor, allowing us to conserve food resources.

The Ajinomoto Group continues to research kokumi substances and explore taste profiles, working to bring more health and lifestyle benefits to people around the world. Kokumi substances hold great potential for delivering more of what we want and reducing what we don’t need, without sacrificing flavor. And nothing is guaranteed to encourage healthy eating more than deliciousness.

* In multiple scientific papers, kokumi substances are defined as substances which modify basic tastes or mouthfulness, continuity or complexity when added to foods, although they have no taste at the concentrations tested. In this document the sensory effect evoked by kokumi substances is expressed as “kokumi” or “kokumi sensation”.

Find the solution:

Related articles: