“食品與健康未來論壇”第1部分

31年2020月XNUMX日舉行了首屆“食品與健康未來論壇”

味之素株式會社於31年2020月XNUMX日星期一舉行了“食品與健康未來論壇”,作為該公司提供準確信息以解決由謠言和食品信息不足引起的社會問題的一項具體舉措。 該論壇回答了消費者的許多問題並獲得了他們的理解。

首屆“食品與健康未來論壇”的主題是“為什麼我們不考慮食品添加劑? 我們為什麼要關心無添加劑食品?” 它解決了對食品添加劑的擔憂和誤解,這些問題多年來一直沒有解決。 除了名流蘇珊娜女士外,專家和行業代表還與我們一起探討了食品添加劑安全性和安全食品選擇。 共有1,300多名觀眾同時參加(觀眾總數:2,600)。 以下是該事件的報告。

開場白

您為什麼組織“食品與健康未來論壇”?

“我認為這幾天評估信息的有效性非常困難,因為我們在日常生活中遇到的許多信息都是不准確的,甚至是不正確的。 人們對食品安全信息特別敏感。 每當對食品安全性有絲毫懷疑時,警報感就會迅速傳播到世界各地,我們被正確的信息和可能引起焦慮的不確定信息所轟擊。 解決這種情況需要很長時間,在人們再次感到安全之前,就施加了許多社會負擔。”

“今天,信息無處不在。 社交網站等未經驗證的消息來源增加了被所謂的“假新聞”誤導的風險。 這就是為什麼我們需要一個可以與整個社會共享有關食品的準確信息的地方。 尤其重要的是有關食品安全和保障的信息,這對於享用食物和健康生活至關重要。 我們需要一個讓人們可以討論他們的關切和問題的地方,直到他們達成共識為止,這就是我們舉辦“食品與健康未來論壇”的原因。”

“我們希望這個論壇將有助於解決您目前存在的任何疑問或不信任感。 我們希望我們今天的努力將使您從明天開始就放心地進餐,從而豐富您的飲食習慣。”
-Takaaki Nishii (味之素公司代表董事,總裁兼首席執行官)

揚聲器

主持人

健一先生 下村
Reiwa Media Institute的總裁,以及
日本互聯網掃盲總監
媒體協會(JIMA)

客人

蘇珊娜女士
名流

小組成員

小木健先生
信息素養專家

中村郁子 博士
家庭營養部主任
介開護理服務部
醫院,醫療公司
福重海,日本副總統
家庭營養管理學會

aki木秀明 DVM,博士
東京大學名譽教授,食品安全與安全基金會主席

千子女士 二村
日本消費者合作聯盟執行官兼組織促進部總經理

齋藤俊二先生
XNUMX-XNUMX日本株式會社質量控制部和質量管理與物流管理部經理

高明先生 西井
代表董事
味之素公司總裁兼首席執行官

找出為什麼首選“無添加劑”和“食品添加劑”的原因
不喜歡。
消費者事務管理局(Consumer Affairs Agency)調查的人中有近一半購買的食品帶有“無添加劑”標籤。

下村: 我會接受的,蘇珊娜女士,您如何看待無添加劑食品?

蘇珊娜: 對於無添加劑產品,我感到很放鬆。 我認為吃一頓可口的飯菜更重要。 但是,如果我有兩種產品,一種含食品添加劑,而另一種不含食品添加劑,我會選擇一種不含食品添加劑的產品。 實際上,我的孩子非常喜歡香腸,於是他說:“媽媽最喜歡的菜是白米飯和香腸。” 但是我真的很想知道,由於社交媒體上的評論,我是否每天都要餵孩子的香腸,並被朋友告知這對他吃不好,因為香腸中含有很多不利於他健康的食品添加劑。 所以,我今天想問你這個問題。 當然,選擇都不是簡單的好事或壞事,但是今天有了這個機會,我想知道我們是否可以安全地吃各種各樣的東西,並且我想讓我省心,我的媽媽朋友們也很想知道這一點。 。

二村: 在合作社中,我們每年都會收到會員關於食品添加劑的一定數量的詢問,例如“我不想讓您使用這種或那種(特定食品添加劑)”或“您的產品中是否使用了這種食品? ” 我敢肯定打電話給我們的人很擔心。

卡拉奇: 當然,使用食品添加劑和殺蟲劑是因為已經過嚴格的測試以確保其安全性,但是確實不喜歡食品添加劑。 這是因為某些人仍然懷有過去的回憶,例如1960年代發生的污染,並提出了應避免使用化學藥品和食品添加劑的概念。 例如,“化學調味料”一詞原意是好東西,但是隨著污染問題的出現​​,由於附帶了“化學”一詞,它變成了不好的東西。

下村: 以下是美國消費者事務管理局(Consumer Affairs Agency)在2017年進行的有關食品標籤態度調查的結果。蘇珊娜女士,以下哪個是您的答案?

蘇珊娜: 如果價格相同,我會回答:“如果是同一種食物,我會購買帶有“不含xx”標籤或不含添加劑的標籤。”

二村: 實際上,我認為不可能嚴格地比較完全相同種類的食物,其中一種含有添加劑,而另一種不含添加劑,因為每種產品的價格,數量和大小都會有所不同。 從這個意義上講,我沒有看到圖表的橙色和黃色部分之間有太大的差異。 我認為,根據情況,有些人會對自己的選擇充滿信心,而有些人則不會。

蘇珊娜: 僅僅因為它貼有無添加劑標籤,並不意味著您要檢查包裝的背面以詳細了解其成分。 也許您之所以購買它,是因為您以某種方式認為自己購買沒有食品添加劑的食品就變得“好”。

下村: 此外,在頻譜的兩端有兩組人:一組說服他們不會購買帶有食品添加劑標籤的食物(上圖的紅色部分),另一組說服他們會購買帶有食物的食物附加標籤(相同的藍色部分)。 今天,我們應該確定每個組都不了解另一組的想法,而不是在這兩個組之間“確定誰是對的”,而每個組都以肯定的相反方式行事。 如果存在彼此未知的信息,每個小組可以學習新知識或開始相互理解。 我希望我們能達到這種溝通的門檻。

卡拉奇: 大約有10%的人(他們選擇“我總是購買帶有不帶xx的標籤或無添加劑的標籤”的食品)與40%的人(如果給出了“選擇。 如果他們真的不喜歡帶有食品添加劑的食品,那麼他們肯定會購買不含添加劑的食品。 40%的受訪者選擇此答案的原因是,有關食品添加劑危險性的信息很多,他們認為如果回答“我不擔心食品添加劑”,他們會被告知他們錯了。 人們常說日本人承受著很大的“同情壓力”。

人們購買帶有無添加劑標籤的食品的原因有70%以上是因為
安全健康。 人類更可能相信危險信息嗎?

下村: 讓我們再看一下調查結果。 購買帶有“不包括xx”和“無添加劑”等標籤的產品的原因是什麼?

蘇珊娜: 我認為我會選擇“因為它看起來既安全又健康”,因為我對自己購買無添加劑標籤的形象感到更加自信。 有時,我購買預製食品,但這樣做時,我將它們藏在超市購物籃的底部,當我購買無添加劑時,我將它們放在頂部,以便可以看到它們。 我想我只是個無聊的人。

二村: 至於“看起來不錯”的問題,即使在合作社中,我們也會收到諸如“我在電視和互聯網上看到了這些信息”之類的查詢。 您是否使用這些食品添加劑?” 即使他們不知道,我也有一個印象,他們中的許多人正在根據所獲得的信息進行思考和採取行動。

卡拉奇: 這意味著我們受到信息的極大影響。 互聯網上和每週的雜誌上都有很多文章說合成防腐劑和人造甜味劑對您的健康有害。 而且,人類有一種本能,那就是永不聽聞危險的信息。 相信您和您的家人會更安全,這是很自然的。

下村: 但是,如果這種信念導致您不得不做出不必要的回應,並且您的日常生活受到“我希望我不必走那麼遠”的水平,那將是一種恥辱。 知道從何處獲取信息非常重要。 我想對味之素集團說:如果您認為“食品添加劑很安全”,那麼我認為您還沒有充分解釋這樣做的原因。 我敢肯定,到目前為止,您在處理它方面很困難,但是與其重複宣稱“它是安全的”一百次的主張,不如說我應該從詢問消費者關注的根源開始。

卡拉奇: 你是對的。 我們本能地受到危險信息的影響,因此我們忽略安全信息。 忽略它是沒有危險的。 這就是為什麼我認為,如果我們不發布大量安全信息,就會迷失在危險信息中,除非我們發布的安全信息是危險信息的十倍,否則我們將無法取勝。

下村: 我還想知道,如果存在“對食品添加劑保持警惕”的想法,那麼對立面“對不含添加劑的人們則不要保持警惕”是否也存在。 僅僅因為某種東西是無添加劑的,每個人都認為它是安全的,但是真的嗎?

卡拉奇: 實際上,使加工食品完全不含添加劑非常困難。 有一些食品製造商稱其產品僅不含消費者不喜歡的防腐劑和色素,因此稱為“無添加劑”,即所謂的“無添加劑”。 有些人錯誤地認為這種“無添加劑”對您有好處,或者它不包含任何食品添加劑。 您可以說他們對無添加劑產品不保持警惕。

二村:合作社擁有“合作社”品牌,但它具有自願性標準,即不能簡單地將我們的產品標記為無添加劑。 如果僅將滿足特定條件的產品標記為“無著色劑”或“無漂白劑”,那麼幾乎沒有“無添加劑”標籤,但實際上,它可能不是很容易被人識別。 如果不清楚為什麼要這樣標記,那將是不公平的。

“Food & Wellness Future Forum” Part 1

The First “Food & Wellness Future Forum” held on August 31, 2020

Ajinomoto Co., Inc. held the “Food & Wellness Future Forum” on Monday, August 31, 2020, as a specific initiative for the company to provide accurate information to address social issues caused by rumors and inadequate information about food. The Forum served to answer many questions from consumers and gain their understanding.

This first “Food & Wellness Future Forum” centered on the theme “Why don’t we think about food additives? Why do we care about additive-free foods?” It addressed concerns and misconceptions about food additives that have remained unresolved for years. In addition to celebrity guest, Ms.Suzanne, we were joined by experts and industry representatives to discuss food additive safety and safe food choices. More than 1,300 viewers participated simultaneously (total number of viewers: 2,600). The following is a report of the event.

Opening Remarks

Why did you organize the “Food & Wellness Future Forum?”

“I think it is very difficult to assess the validity of information these days because a lot of the information we encounter in our daily lives is inaccurate or even, incorrect. People are especially sensitive to information about food safety. Whenever there is the slightest doubt about the safety of food, the sense of alarm spreads quickly throughout the world, and we are bombarded with both correct information and uncertain information that can cause anxiety. It takes a long time to resolve such a situation, and before people can feel safe again, many social burdens are imposed.”

“Today, information is everywhere. Unverified sources such as social networking sites increases the risk of being misled by so-called “fake news.” This is why we need a place where accurate information about food can be shared with society as a whole. What is especially important, is information about food safety and security, which is essential for enjoying food and living a healthy life. We need a place where people can discuss their concerns and questions until they reach a mutual understanding, which is why we held the ‘Food & Wellness Future Forum’.”

“We hope that this forum will help to resolve any doubts or sense of mistrust you have right now. We hope our efforts today will enrich your eating habits by enabling you to enjoy eating with peace of mind from tomorrow.”
――Takaaki Nishii (Representative Director, President & CEO of Ajinomoto Co.)

Speaker

Moderator

Mr. Kenichi Shimomura
President of Reiwa Media Institute, and
Director of Literacy at Japan Internet
Media Association (JIMA)

Guest

Ms. Suzanne
Celebrity

Panelists

Mr. Ken Ogiso
Information Literacy Specialist

Ikuko Nakamura, PhD
Chief of Nutrition Department of Home
Care Services Division of Jieikai
Hospital, Medical Corporation
Fukujukai, and Vice President of Japan
Home Nutrition Management Society

Hideaki Karaki, DVM, PhD
Professor Emeritus at the University of Tokyo, and President of the Foundation of Food Safety and Security

Ms. Chikako Futamura
Executive Officer and General Manager of Organization Promotion Division at Japanese Consumers’ Co-operative Union

Mr. Shunji Saito
Manager of QC Department and QC & Logistics Management Division at Seven-Eleven Japan Co., Ltd.

Mr. Takaaki Nishii
Representative Director,
President & CEO of Ajinomoto Co.

Find out why the term “additive-free” is preferred and food additives are
disliked.
Nearly half of the people surveyed by the Consumer Affairs Agency buy food with an “additive-free” label.

Shimomura: I’ll get right to it, Ms. Suzanne, what do you think about additive-free foods?

Suzanne: I’m quite relaxed when it comes to additive-free products. I think it’s more important to have a delicious and enjoyable meal. However, if I had two products, one with food additives and one without, I would choose the one without food additives. In fact, my child loves sausage so much that he says, “My favorite dish my mom makes is white rice and sausage.” But I really wonder if I should feed my child sausage every day because of comments on social media, and being told by friends that it’s not good for him to eat, as sausage contains a lot of food additives which is not good for his health. So, I’d like to ask you about this today. Of course, neither choice is simply good or bad, but given this opportunity today, I want to know if we can safely eat a variety of things, and I think for peace of mind, my mom friends would be interested to hear about that too.

Futamura: At the Co-op we receive a certain number of inquiries from our members about food additives every year, such as “I don’t want you to use this or that (specific food additive)” or “Is this used in your product?” I’m sure the people who call us are worried.

Karaki: Of course, food additives and pesticides are used because they have been tested rigorously to ensure their safety, but it is also true that food additives are disliked. This is because some people still have memories from the past, such as the pollution that occurred in the 1960s, and have developed the concept that chemicals and food additives should be avoided. For example, the term “chemical seasoning” used to mean something good, but as issues with pollution have emerged, it turned into something bad because of the word “chemical” attached to it.

Shimomura: Here are the results of a survey on food labeling attitudes conducted by the Consumer Affairs Agency in 2017. Which of the following would be your answer, Ms. Suzanne?

Suzanne: If the price is the same, I’d answer, “If it’s the same kind of food, I’ll buy the one with a label that says ‘no xx included’ or a label that says additive-free.”

Futamura: In fact, I don’t think it’s possible to strictly compare exactly the same kind of food, one containing additives and one without, because the price, amount, and size of each product would be different. In that sense, I didn’t see that big of a difference between the orange and yellow sections of the graph. I think that depending on the situation, there would be some people who would be confident in their choice, and others who would not.

Suzanne: Just because it’ s labelled additive-free doesn’t mean you are going to check the back of the package to find out the ingredients in detail. Maybe you’re buying it because somehow you think you’re being “good” by buying food without food additives.

Shimomura: In addition, there are two groups of people at both ends of the spectrum: one group convinced that they will not buy foods with food additive labels (the red part of the diagram above), and another group convinced that they will buy foods with food additive labels (the same, blue part). Today, instead of “deciding who is right” between these two groups, each acting in opposite ways with certainty, we should try to reveal the fact that each group does not understand how the other group thinks. If there is mutually unknown information, each group can learn something new or begin a mutual understanding. I hope we can reach the threshold of such communication.

Karaki: There’s a big difference between the group of about 10% who chose “I always buy food with a label that says no xx included or a label that says additive-free” and the 40% who say they would buy additive-free if given the choice. If they really didn’t like food with food additives, they would definitely buy additive-free foods. The reason why 40% of the respondents chose this response is because information abounds about the dangers of food additives, and they think that if they answer “I’m not worried about food additives,” they will be told that they are wrong. It’s often said that Japanese people undergo a lot of ‘sympathy pressure.’

More than 70% of the reasons people buy food with an additive-free label are because it seems
safe and healthy. Are humans more likely to believe dangerous information?

Shimomura: Let’s take another look at the results of the survey. What are the reasons for purchasing products with labels such as “no xx included” and “additive-free?”

Suzanne: I think I would choose “Because it looks safe and healthy” because I feel more confident with the image of myself buying the additive-free label. Sometimes I buy prepared foods, but when I do so, I hide them at the bottom of the supermarket basket, and when I buy additive-free, I put them at the top so that they can be seen. I guess I’ m just an unreasonably vain person.

Futamura: As for this matter of ‘looking good,’ even at the Co-op, we receive inquiries, such as, “I saw this information on TV and on the Internet. Do you use these food additives?” Even if they are not aware of it, I have the impression that many of them are thinking and acting based on the information they are getting.

Karaki: It means that we are greatly influenced by information. There are many articles on the Internet and in weekly magazines that say synthetic preservatives and artificial sweeteners are bad for your health. And humans have an instinct to never let dangerous information go unheard. It’s only natural to believe that you and your family will be safer if you believe such information.

Shimomura: But it would be a shame if that belief resulted in your having to respond more than necessary, and if your daily life was affected on a level of “I wish I hadn’t had to go that far.” It’s very important to know where to get your information. I want to say this to Ajinomoto Group: if you think that “food additives are safe,” then I think you haven’t yet sufficiently explained your reasons for doing so. I’m sure you’ve had a hard time dealing with it so far, but instead of repeating your assertion that “it’s safe” a hundred times, I think you should start by asking consumers what the source of their concern is.

Karaki: You’re right. We have an instinct to be more influenced by dangerous information, so we ignore safety information. There is no danger in ignoring it. That is why I believe that if we don’t release a lot of safety information, we will lose out to the dangerous information, and that we can’t win unless we release about ten times as much safety information as dangerous information.

Shimomura: I also wondered, if the idea of “vigilance for food additives” exists, then so does its opposite, “no vigilance for additive-free.” Just because something is additive-free, everyone believes that it is safe, but is it really?

Karaki: In fact, it is very difficult to make processed foods completely additive-free. There are some food manufacturers that call their products additive-free when they exclude only the preservatives and colorings, which consumers dislike, these are so-called “additive-free.” Some people mistakenly believe that this “additive-free” is good for you, or that it contains no food additives whatsoever. You could say that they are not vigilant about additive-free products.

Futamura: The Co-op has a “Co-op” brand, but it has a voluntary standard that it does not simply label our products as being additive-free. There is almost no labeling of “additive-free” to the extent that only products that meet certain conditions are labeled as “no colorant” or “no bleach,” but in fact, it may not be very well recognized. It wouldn’t be fair if it wasn’t clear why they are labeled as such.