أومامي

تمتد قصة أومامي لأكثر من قرن ، من الاكتشاف الأول إلى الاعتراف العالمي كطعم أساسي خامس.

أومامي - طعم أساسي خامس ، ينتجه حمض أميني

دكتور كيكوناي إيكيدا
مكتشف طعم أومامي

تم التعرف على أومامي قبل أكثر من مائة عام من قبل الدكتور كيكوناي إيكيدا من جامعة طوكيو الإمبراطورية (جامعة طوكيو الآن) ، وهو عالم وضع الأساس لدراسة الكيمياء الفيزيائية في اليابان. اكتشف الدكتور إيكيدا لأول مرة طعم أومامي في kombu dashi (مرق عشب البحر) المستخدم في yudofu (وعاء التوفو الساخن). وقد وصفه بأنه إحساس لا يمكن إنشاؤه من الأذواق الأساسية الأربعة المعروفة للحلوى والحامضة والمالحة والمر ، وأطلق عليه أومامي ، والذي يمكن ترجمته على أنه "طعم لذيذ ولذيذ".

في عام 1908 ، نجح د. إيكيدا في استخراج 30 جم من مركب أومامي من حوالي 12 كجم من كومبو. وعلم أن أومامي هو طعم الغلوتامات ، وهو ملح مشتق من حمض الغلوتاميك ، وهو أحد الأحماض الأمينية.

واليوم ، تُستخدم الكلمة اليابانية أومامي في جميع أنحاء العالم لوصف هذا المذاق ، وتبدأ قصة قبولها عالميًا باعتبارها المذاق الأساسي الخامس باكتشاف الدكتور إيكيدا.

الخطوة الأولى على المسرح العالمي

قدم العرض الأول عن أومامي في مؤتمر أكاديمي عالمي من قبل الدكتور إيكيدا في المؤتمر الدولي الثامن للكيمياء التطبيقية الذي عقد في مدينة نيويورك عام 1912. افتتح بحثه بعنوان "على مذاق ملح حمض الجلوتاميك" بهذه الكلمات :

"أولئك الذين ينتبهون بعناية إلى براعم التذوق الخاصة بهم سيكتشفون في النكهة المعقدة للهليون والطماطم والجبن واللحوم ، وهو طعم شائع ولكنه فريد تمامًا لا يمكن تسميته حلوًا أو حامضًا أو مالحًا أو مرًا ..."

في ذلك الوقت ، لم يجذب تقريره اهتمامًا كبيرًا من المجتمع العلمي. في حين أن الطعم الذي سماه أومامي كان مألوفًا للناس في اليابان ، حيث كان كومبو لفترة طويلة جزءًا من النظام الغذائي ، لم يسمع الناس في الغرب أبدًا عن أومامي ولم يعترفوا به كطعم أساسي آخر. على مدى عقود عديدة ، اكتسب مفهوم هذا "الطعم الخامس" قبولًا تدريجيًا نتيجة لزيادة الأدلة العلمية الدولية ، مما جعل أومامي بشكل لا لبس فيه طعمًا أساسيًا.

يشير التحليل الرياضي إلى طعم أساسي خامس

تم إجراء دراسات تفصيلية في الفيزيولوجيا الكهربية والحسية على مدى سنوات عديدة لتحديد الوظيفة الفسيولوجية لأومامي ومصدرها ، غلوتامات أحادية الصوديوم (MSG). ومع ذلك ، لأنه يعتقد أن MSG هو محسن للنكهة ، لم يتم تصنيف أومامي في البداية كطعم أساسي ولم يتم قبول مفهومه كطعم مستقل على نطاق واسع. بدأ هذا النموذج في التحول في الندوة الدولية الأولى حول طعم أومامي ، التي عقدت في هاواي في عام 1985 ، والتي اجتذبت العديد من الباحثين من العديد من البلدان.

استخدمت الدكتورة شيزوكو ياماغوتشي ، باحثة في شركة أجينوموتو المحدودة ، التحليل الرياضي في دراستها لأومامي لتثبت أنه الطعم الأساسي الخامس. باستخدام 21 عينة اختبار لتحليل الاختلافات في محفزات الذوق التي يسببها أومامي ، قامت بحساب المسافة العددية بين أومامي والأذواق الأساسية الأربعة المعروفة جيدًا ، ورسمتها على مصفوفة تحجيم متعددة الأبعاد (كما هو موضح أعلاه). نجح الدكتور ياماغوتشي في توضيح درجات التشابه بين الأذواق الأساسية الأربعة والأومامي. يوضح التوزيع المكاني لكل من الأذواق الأساسية الأربعة المعروفة رباعي الأسطح. يمثل أومامي بوضوح بُعدًا مستقلاً آخر من الذوق. ورد التحليل في كتاب وقائع الندوة ودخل أومامي المعجم الأكاديمي الدولي.

الأميامي: الطعم الأساسي الخامس

تم تعيين الدكتور شيزوكو ياماغوتشي (دكتوراه في الزراعة) أستاذًا في جامعة طوكيو للزراعة في عام 1997 بعد أكثر من ثلاثين عامًا من أبحاث الذوق في شركة أجينوموتو.

صعود الاعتراف العالمي

قاموس أكسفورد المتقدم للمتعلم الطبعة الثامنة © مطبعة جامعة أكسفورد 8

حفزت الندوة الدولية لعام 1985 في هاواي اهتمامًا قويًا بالأومامي بين الباحثين في جميع أنحاء العالم ، مما دفع إلى إجراء دراسات إضافية على الأومامي وتصوره ، لا سيما في مجال الفيزيولوجيا الكهربية. عقدت الندوة الدولية الثانية حول طعم أومامي في جزيرة صقلية الإيطالية في عام 1990. تم نشر التقارير البحثية الـ 27 المقدمة هناك كعدد خاص من المجلة الأكاديمية الدولية الفيزيولوجيا والسلوك. اكتسب استخدام أومامي كمصطلح تقني وأداء البحوث المتعلقة بالأومامي ، بما في ذلك تحديد مستقبلات طعم أومامي ، قبولًا سريعًا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الطموح - تاريخ اكتشاف أومامي

Umami

The story of umami spans more than a century, from first discovery to worldwide recognition as the fifth basic taste.

Umami—the fifth basic taste, produced by an amino acid

Dr. Kikunae Ikeda
Discoverer of the umami taste

Umami was identified more than a hundred years ago by Dr. Kikunae Ikeda of Tokyo Imperial University (now the University of Tokyo), a scientist who laid the groundwork for the study of physical chemistry in Japan. Dr. Ikeda first discerned the taste of umami in kombu dashi (kelp broth) used for yudofu (tofu hot pot). He identified it as a sensation that could not be created from the four well-known basic tastes of sweet, sour, salty and bitter, and named it umami, which can be translated as “delicious, savory taste.”

In 1908, Dr. Ikeda succeeded in extracting 30g of the umami compound from about 12kg of kombu. He learned that umami is the taste of glutamate, a salt derived from glutamic acid, one of the amino acids.

Today, the Japanese word umami is used world-wide to describe this taste, and the story of its global acceptance as the fifth basic taste begins with Dr. Ikeda’s discovery.

First step onto the world stage

The first presentation about umami at a global academic conference was given by Dr. Ikeda at the Eighth International Congress of Applied Chemistry held in New York City in 1912. His paper, entitled On the Taste of the Salt of Glutamic Acid, opened with these words:

“Those who pay careful attention to their taste buds will discover in the complex flavor of asparagus, tomatoes, cheese and meat, a common and yet absolutely singular taste which cannot be called sweet, or sour, or salty, or bitter…”

At the time, his report attracted little notice from the scientific community. While the taste he called umami was familiar to people in Japan, where kombu had long been a part of the diet, people in the West had never heard of umami nor recognized it as another basic taste. Over many decades the concept of this “fifth taste” gained gradual acceptance as the result of increasing international scientific evidence, unequivocally establishing umami as a basic taste.

Mathematical analysis points to a fifth basic taste

Detailed electrophysiological and taste sensory studies were carried out over many years to determine the physiological function of umami and its source, monosodium glutamate (MSG). However, because MSG was believed to be a flavor enhancer, umami was not initially categorized as a basic taste and the concept of it as an independent taste was not widely accepted. The paradigm began to shift at the First International Symposium on Umami Taste, held in Hawaii in 1985, which attracted various researchers from many countries.

Dr. Shizuko Yamaguchi, a researcher at Ajinomoto Co., Inc., employed mathematical analysis in her study of umami to show that it was the fifth basic taste. Using 21 test samples to analyze variations in taste stimuli caused by umami, she calculated the numerical distance between umami and the four well-known basic tastes, and plotted them on a multidimensional scaling matrix (shown above). Dr. Yamaguchi succeeded in illustrating the degrees of similarity among the four well-known basic tastes and umami. The spatial distribution of each of the four well-known basic tastes outline a tetrahedron. Umami clearly represents another independent dimension of taste. The analysis was reported in the book of proceedings from the symposium and umami entered the international academic lexicon.

UMAMI: THE FIFTH BASIC TASTE

Dr. Shizuko Yamaguchi (Ph.D. agriculture) was appointed Professor at Tokyo University of Agriculture in 1997 following more than thirty years of taste research at Ajinomoto Co., Inc.

Rise of worldwide recognition

Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary 8th edition ©Oxford University Press 2015

The 1985 international symposium in Hawaii stimulated strong interest in umami among researchers around the world, prompting additional studies on umami and its perception, particularly in the field of electrophysiology. The Second International Symposium on Umami Taste was held on the Italian island of Sicily in 1990. The 27 research reports presented there were published as a special issue of the international academic journal Physiology & Behavior. The use of umami as a technical term and the performance of umami-related research, including the identification of umami taste receptors, rapidly gained worldwide acceptance.

Related Information pages

AMBITION - Umami discovery history