鮮見

鮮味的故事跨越一個多世紀,從第一次發現到全世界公認的第五種基本口味。

鮮味-氨基酸產生的第五種基本口味

池田喜乃惠博士
鮮味的發現者

一百多年前,東京帝國大學(現東京大學)的池田菊名博士(Kikunae Ikeda)確定了鮮味,該科學家為日本物理化學的研究奠定了基礎。 池田博士首先在用於yudofu(豆腐火鍋)的海帶湯(海帶湯)中辨別了鮮味。 他將其識別為無法從四種眾所周知的甜,酸,咸和苦的基本口味中產生的感覺,並將其命名為鮮味,可以將其翻譯為“美味,鹹味”。

1908年,池田博士成功地從大約30公斤的海帶中提取了12克的鮮味化合物。 他了解到,鮮味是谷氨酸的味道,谷氨酸是一種來自谷氨酸(一種氨基酸)的鹽。

今天,日本人將鮮味這個詞在全世界範圍內用來形容這種味道,而作為第五種基本味道在全球範圍內得到認可的故事始於池田博士的發現。

邁向世界舞台的第一步

池田博士在1912年在紐約舉行的第八屆國際應用化學大會上在全球學術會議上首次發表了有關鮮味的演講。他的論文題為“關於谷氨酸鹽的味道”以這些詞開頭。 :

“那些細心注意味蕾的人會發現蘆筍,西紅柿,奶酪和肉類的複雜口味具有共同但絕對單一的味道,不能稱其為甜,酸,咸或苦……”

當時,他的報告很少引起科學界的注意。 雖然日本人一直很喜歡海帶,但他稱之為鮮味的味道在日本的人們中還是很熟悉的,但西方人從來沒有聽說過鮮味,也從來沒有將它識別為另一種基本味道。 幾十年來,隨著國際科學證據的不斷增多,“第五口味”的概念逐漸被人們接受,明確地將鮮味確立為基本口味。

數學分析指出第五種基本口味

多年來進行了詳細的電生理和味覺研究,以確定鮮味及其來源,味精(MSG)的生理功能。 但是,由於味精被認為是一種增味劑,鮮味最初並未歸類為基本口味,其作為獨立口味的概念並未得到廣泛接受。 這種模式在1985年於夏威夷舉行的首屆鮮味國際研討會上開始發生變化,吸引了來自許多國家的各種研究人員。

味之素公司的研究員山口靜子博士在對鮮味的研究中運用數學分析表明,這是第五種基本口味。 她使用21個測試樣本分析了鮮味引起的味覺刺激變化,計算了鮮味和四種眾所周知的基本味之間的數值距離,並將它們繪製在多維比例矩陣上(如上所示)。 山口博士成功地說明了四種眾所周知的基本口味和鮮味之間的相似程度。 四種眾所周知的基本口味中每一種的空間分佈都勾勒出一個四面體。 鮮味顯然代表了味覺的另一個獨立維度。 該分析在會議論文集中進行了報導,鮮味進入了國際學術詞典。

鮮味:第五種基本口味

經過對味之素株式會社(Ajinomoto Co.,Inc.)超過1997年的口味研究,山口靜子(Shizuko Yamaguchi)博士(農業博士學位)於XNUMX年被任命為東京農業大學教授。

全球認可度的上升

牛津高階英漢雙解詞典第8版©牛津大學出版社2015年

1985年在夏威夷舉行的國際研討會激發了全世界研究人員對鮮味的濃厚興趣,促使人們對鮮味及其感知(特別是在電生理領域)進行了更多研究。 1990年在意大利西西里島舉行了第二次鮮味國際研討會。在那裡發表的27篇研究報告作為國際學術期刊《生理與行為》的特刊出版。 鮮味作為技術術語的使用以及鮮味相關研究的開展,包括鮮味口味受體的鑑定,迅速獲得了全世界的認可。

雄心壯志-鮮味發現歷史

Unlocking the power of amino acids to resolve food and health issues

The Ajinomoto Group, unlocking the power of amino acids, aims to resolve the food and health issues
associated with dietary habits and aging, and contribute to greater wellness for people worldwide.

Umami

The story of umami spans more than a century, from first discovery to worldwide recognition as the fifth basic taste.

Umami—the fifth basic taste, produced by an amino acid

Dr. Kikunae Ikeda
Discoverer of the umami taste

Umami was identified more than a hundred years ago by Dr. Kikunae Ikeda of Tokyo Imperial University (now the University of Tokyo), a scientist who laid the groundwork for the study of physical chemistry in Japan. Dr. Ikeda first discerned the taste of umami in kombu dashi (kelp broth) used for yudofu (tofu hot pot). He identified it as a sensation that could not be created from the four well-known basic tastes of sweet, sour, salty and bitter, and named it umami, which can be translated as “delicious, savory taste.”

In 1908, Dr. Ikeda succeeded in extracting 30g of the umami compound from about 12kg of kombu. He learned that umami is the taste of glutamate, a salt derived from glutamic acid, one of the amino acids.

Today, the Japanese word umami is used world-wide to describe this taste, and the story of its global acceptance as the fifth basic taste begins with Dr. Ikeda’s discovery.

First step onto the world stage

The first presentation about umami at a global academic conference was given by Dr. Ikeda at the Eighth International Congress of Applied Chemistry held in New York City in 1912. His paper, entitled On the Taste of the Salt of Glutamic Acid, opened with these words:

“Those who pay careful attention to their taste buds will discover in the complex flavor of asparagus, tomatoes, cheese and meat, a common and yet absolutely singular taste which cannot be called sweet, or sour, or salty, or bitter…”

At the time, his report attracted little notice from the scientific community. While the taste he called umami was familiar to people in Japan, where kombu had long been a part of the diet, people in the West had never heard of umami nor recognized it as another basic taste. Over many decades the concept of this “fifth taste” gained gradual acceptance as the result of increasing international scientific evidence, unequivocally establishing umami as a basic taste.

Mathematical analysis points to a fifth basic taste

Detailed electrophysiological and taste sensory studies were carried out over many years to determine the physiological function of umami and its source, monosodium glutamate (MSG). However, because MSG was believed to be a flavor enhancer, umami was not initially categorized as a basic taste and the concept of it as an independent taste was not widely accepted. The paradigm began to shift at the First International Symposium on Umami Taste, held in Hawaii in 1985, which attracted various researchers from many countries.

Dr. Shizuko Yamaguchi, a researcher at Ajinomoto Co., Inc., employed mathematical analysis in her study of umami to show that it was the fifth basic taste. Using 21 test samples to analyze variations in taste stimuli caused by umami, she calculated the numerical distance between umami and the four well-known basic tastes, and plotted them on a multidimensional scaling matrix (shown above). Dr. Yamaguchi succeeded in illustrating the degrees of similarity among the four well-known basic tastes and umami. The spatial distribution of each of the four well-known basic tastes outline a tetrahedron. Umami clearly represents another independent dimension of taste. The analysis was reported in the book of proceedings from the symposium and umami entered the international academic lexicon.

UMAMI: THE FIFTH BASIC TASTE

Dr. Shizuko Yamaguchi (Ph.D. agriculture) was appointed Professor at Tokyo University of Agriculture in 1997 following more than thirty years of taste research at Ajinomoto Co., Inc.

Rise of worldwide recognition

Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary 8th edition ©Oxford University Press 2015

The 1985 international symposium in Hawaii stimulated strong interest in umami among researchers around the world, prompting additional studies on umami and its perception, particularly in the field of electrophysiology. The Second International Symposium on Umami Taste was held on the Italian island of Sicily in 1990. The 27 research reports presented there were published as a special issue of the international academic journal Physiology & Behavior. The use of umami as a technical term and the performance of umami-related research, including the identification of umami taste receptors, rapidly gained worldwide acceptance.

Related Information pages

AMBITION - Umami discovery history