Oishiku meshi-agare! (“吃得很香!”)

Oishiku meshi-agare!——從字面上看,“吃得好!”

或者,正如我們今天所說,“享受您的用餐吧!”

從廚房的廚師到餐桌上的小餐館,

這些神奇的話語給大家帶來了歡樂。

1. 為什麼我們說“吃得好!”

二十世紀初,現代化正在改變日本。

新成立的味之素公司想與人們分享烹飪的樂趣,分享美味佳餚的快樂。

所以,在 1910 年,我們出版了一本關於烹飪的小冊子。

它被稱為 吃得津津有味!

110 多年後的今天,我們傳播快樂和幸福的願望沒有改變。

我們生活在動蕩的、前所未有的時代。
因此,我們比以往任何時候都更希望人們享受美食並吃得好。
這就是味之素集團所做的一切的背後。

我們將繼續幫助更多的人“吃得好!”

獻給你生命中那些特別的人。
對於那些你想但不能見面的朋友。
為了你的同事,最重要的是,為了你自己。
我們希望你和我們一起說,“吃得很香!

2. Eat Delicious Project 背後的理念

味之本® 鮮味調味料——我們公司賴以成立的產品——誕生於日本古老的傳統價值觀正在迅速變化的時代。

但是,即使在那個時候,日本人都同意的一件事是一起分享美味食物的重要性。

一個多世紀前出版的這本小冊子再次提醒了我們對烹飪的熱愛,這種熱愛深深植根於日本文化。

我們的美食計劃是我們向當代和後代傳遞烹飪的樂趣、發現美味食物的樂趣和一起吃飯的快樂的方式,以感謝所有多年來支持我們的人。

3. 幫助推出新調味品的小冊子

吃得津津有味! 百年烹飪小冊子

味之本® 鮮味調味料 於 1909 年推出。日本正處於一個新時代的風口浪尖,一個以流行文化中的現代主義為特徵的時代。 對於普通日本人來說,從西方進口的一切,正如我們今天所說的那樣,都是時髦的。 西餐正在適應日本人的口味,從而產生了日本獨有的融合飲食文化。

那是一個充滿活力和激動人心的時代,而 AJI-NO-MOTO® 證明是成功的。 沒過多久,大家都在談論現代時尚的新調味料。 吃得津津有味! 發布以幫助消費者更好地了解它是什麼以及如何使用它。

用我們 XNUMX 世紀的耳朵熟悉得驚人的語言,吃得好! 解釋瞭如何使用 AJI-NO-MOTO® 實現廚房更大的“效率”和“經濟”。 對於今天的我們來說,它還讓我們難得地一窺 XNUMX 世紀早期日本廚師的生活,他們享受美味的食物,並將這種最先進的科學調味料融入他們新的現代生活方式。

  • 因為它很容易溶於熱水和冷水, 味之本® 為家庭廚師提供了一種方便的方法來準備肉湯,無需花費時間或精力,並且可以儲存多年而不會降低質量。 它還被吹捧為一種神奇的增味劑,適用於任何類型的食物,從日本和西方美食到素食菜餚。

    根據日本內政省 AJI-NO-MOTO 進行的測試,據報導“非常安全和衛生”® 吸引了越來越多的家庭廚師,他們認為衛生與營養和經濟一樣重要。

    甚至有人建議滑一瓶 AJI-NO-MOTO® 旅行或外出時放在包包或口袋裡,即使出門在外,也能隨時享用美味佳餚。

    那時,無論是日式還是西式,肉湯都是中上層廚房不可或缺的食材。 但是每天早晚準備它很容易每天花一個小時,或者一年整整十五天。 使用 AJI-NO-MOTO® 取而代之的是,家庭廚師可以將這段時間花在其他工作上。

  • 1908年,東京帝國大學教授池田菊苗博士成功地從海帶中提取了氨基酸谷氨酸。 他確定這是導致許多食物美味的物質,從海帶湯開始,他將這種未知的味道稱為“鮮味”。 正是在這個時刻,世界開始了解到除了當時公認的四種基本味道——甜、酸、咸和苦之外,還有第五種味道。 次年以品牌名稱推出味精 味之本®,成為世界上第一個鮮味調味料。

  • 在1909, 味之本® 完全未知。 畢竟,這是世界上第一個鮮味調味料——日本消費者從未見過這樣的東西。 所以,在 吃得津津有味!, Ajinomoto Co. 著手解釋究竟是什麼 AJI-NO-MOTO® 是以及如何使用它。 這本小冊子的標題經過精心挑選,以傳達 AJI-NO-MOTO 的信息® 可以使廚師和食客的日常用餐更加愉快。

    作者:Mioko Hatanaka,美食記者

如何使用 AJI-NO-MOTO®

其實AJI-NO-MOTO的使用方法並沒有什麼特別的規定® 因為它只是一種省時的肉湯提取物。 它可以添加到日式或西式料理中,也可以添加到糖果、醋、醬油以及各種食物和調味料中,根據您喜歡的濃淡比例添加。 只要你有一瓶AJI-NO-MOTO® 在您的餐桌或廚房、旅行包或口袋裡,無論您身在何處,都不會缺少美味的食物。

在家裡:西方家庭總是準備肉湯來調味,而日本家庭則使用乾鰹魚片或海帶製成的肉湯,兩者都需要很長時間才能準備好,而且儲存起來會在夏天變質。 如今在日本,中產以上家庭的餐桌上都會有西式和日式兩種肉湯製作的菜餚,因此家庭主婦必須始終準備兩種。 女士們,你不知道你浪費了多少時間。 習慣是一件可怕的事情,如果你每天每晚都這樣做,你可能不會想太多。 但是假設您每天在黎明和黃昏之間花費一個小時,那麼您一年浪費的時間超過十五個白天和黑夜。 如果您將這段時間用於其他事情,您還能做多少其他工作? 傳聞有樣板廚房的大隈伯爵家使用AJI-NO-MOTO已有一段時間了® 按照青山博士的建議。 此外,在美食書籍作者村井玄齋的家中,有一瓶AJI-NO-MOTO® 據說每頓飯都放在餐桌上。

老人、小孩、病人:老人和小孩經常吃不飽,病人特別麻煩。 對他們來說,AJI-NO-MOTO® 是最合適的調味品。 醫科大學的 Kinnosuke Miura 博士告訴村井玄齋夫人,“AJI-NO-MOTO® 是通過分解氨基酸中的蛋白質製成的。 如果你把用它做的湯給一個不喜歡肉湯的病人,他會很樂意喝的。” 源齋夫人接著說,如果她知道有人生病了,她一定會告訴他們的。

素食:AJI-NO-MOTO® 是最適合素食的調味料,避免了腥味。 如本文其他部分所述,它由小麥、大豆和其他植物成分製成,因此不含任何雜質。 因此,我們很榮幸收到 AJI-NO-MOTO 的請求® 來自村雲太上殿下和高野山的許多僧侶。

4. AJI-NO-MOTO® 和日本家庭烹飪的出現

讓我們從十九世紀末到二十世紀初日本飲食習慣的簡史開始。

從 1868 年的明治維新開始——日本的封建政府被西式君主立憲制取代——日本經歷了一段快速現代化的時期。 食物也不例外。 隨著古代肉食禁令的解除和西餐的引入,日本人的飲食發生了重大變化。 在接下來的幾十年裡,一種家庭烹飪文化興起,日本家庭主婦的角色確立了。

直到 1868 年,烹飪一直被認為是人類的工作。 江戶(現在的東京)所有偉大的武士房屋的廚房都由男性擔任,而參加他們的下級武士則被要求自己做飯。 雖然農家和商戶的婦女負責做飯,但這並不像我們今天想像的那樣是家常便飯,而是更接近於自給自足的生活。

準備美味的飯菜成為家庭主婦的職責

隨著 1868 年之後工業化的推進,男性越來越多地在辦公室或工廠找到家庭以外的工作,而女性則留在家裡照顧孩子、做飯和做家務。 這就是日本現代家庭結構的起源,具有明確的性別角色。 大約在同一時間,家政學的研究從西方傳入。 女子中學教育是為年輕女性傳授烹飪、縫紉和育兒等知識而發展起來的,目的是讓她們成為俗話說的“賢妻良母”。 1882年,日本第一所家庭主婦烹飪學校——赤堀烹飪學校開辦,並延續至今。

在這幾十年裡,家庭主婦的職責是準備和提供美味、經濟的飯菜的想法已經根深蒂固。 每年,越來越多的針對家庭廚師的食譜出版。 起初,這些都是以專業廚師的食譜為藍本的。 但漸漸地,一種新的家庭烹飪概念出現了,它融合了日本、西方和中國的美食。

家庭烹飪的三大支柱:營養、衛生和經濟

到 XNUMX 世紀末,隨著西方科學知識的普及,人們不僅更加重視口味和品種,還更加重視營養和衛生。 除了經濟,這些成為日本家庭烹飪的支柱。

圍繞餐飲的習俗也在發生變化。 屬於日本蓬勃發展的城市中產階級的家庭採用了一起吃飯的做法,圍坐在一張矮餐桌旁的地板上,而不是像以前的習慣那樣從單獨的托盤中用餐。 隨著這種做法在全國范圍內傳播,觀察家讚許地指出家庭用餐的社會和心理益處。

越來越多的城市中產家庭主婦,在全國女子學校接受教育,成為“賢妻良母”,翻閱食譜和女性雜誌,努力磨練自己的家庭烹飪技能,為家人做出更健康、更美味的食物.

從 1910 年代開始,燃氣、電力和自來水成為中產階級家庭越來越普遍的特徵,日本首次引入了現代廚房。 這些使家庭廚師能夠站著工作,而不是像傳統的日本廚房那樣蹲在地板上。 1913年,月刊Ryori no Tomo(烹飪之友)創刊,介紹了針對家庭廚師的各種日本、西方和中國食譜。

傳統日本廚房的爐灶很低,做飯是蹲在地板上的。

就在這個時候,當現代便利設施和準確的飲食信息正在提高家庭烹飪水平時, 味之本® 推出以滿足家庭廚師的需求。 事實證明這是一個巨大的成功。

吃得津津有味! 是那個遙遠時代人們對食物和烹飪的熱愛的活生生的證明。 那一點沒有改變。 對我們來說,想到男人和女人,就像我們一樣,無論是家庭廚師還是專業廚師,與 AJI-NO-MOTO 一起烹飪,都是令人興奮的® 第一次。 他們用它做了什麼美味的飯菜,當他們品嚐它時有什麼反應? 只能想像!

  作者:Mioko Hatanaka,美食記者

5. 100 多年來為可持續烹飪做出貢獻

什麼東西能吃得好! 教我們社會問題?
味之本® 對可持續發展目標的承諾世紀

作者:小木健

小木健先生

我不知道你是怎麼想的,但是當我看到這個重印的美味時,我想到的第一個詞! 是“可持續發展目標”。

但在我解釋之前,也許需要介紹一下。

我的名字是 Ken Ogiso,我是網絡素養方面的專家。 我就社交網絡和我們數字生活的各個方面發表演講並撰寫書籍。 換句話說,做飯不是我的職責。 那麼,我為什麼要參加 Eat Delicious Project?

小時候經常吃烏冬麵湯,常去的一家餐廳的廚師給了我一份麻辣鱈魚子烏冬面(明太子)的食譜。 但我第一次嘗試自己做時,不知怎麼的味道不對。 有什麼東西不見了。 所以,我灑了一點 味之本® 在上面,突然間,所有的味道都融合在一起了——味道太棒了!

去年,味之素集團邀請我參加其首屆食品與健康未來論壇。 我著迷於了解 AJI-NO-MOTO 的悠久歷史® 鮮味調味料。 之後,我想了解更多。 所以,當我聽說原來Eat Delicious! 小冊子——1909 年出版,緊隨 AJI-NO-MOTO® 被發明了——要再版了,我請求公司讓我參與這個項目。

無論如何,回到可持續發展目標的主題,最近我們聽到了很多關於這些的消息,但並不是每個人都確切地知道它們是什麼。

SDGs(或稱可持續發展目標)是聯合國大會六年前(即 17 年)通過的 2015 項國際目標的集合,供世界各國努力實現。 可持續發展目標旨在作為“到 2030 年為所有人和世界實現更美好、更可持續未來的藍圖”。 您可以在 https://sdgs.un.org 或通過搜索“SDGs”在線查找所有相關信息。

你可能最近經常看到這張圖表。 十七個彩色圖塊分別代表不同的可持續發展目標。 自 2019 年以來,當日本政府呼籲私營部門合作幫助日本實現目標時,越來越多的公司發起了自己的 SDG 相關舉措。 現在,各地的公司和組織都在利用各自的專業知識來努力實現這些目標。

努力實現性別平等:AJI-NO-MOTO® 是一個有 100 年曆史的生活小竅門!

那麼兩者之間有什麼聯繫 吃得津津有味! 和可持續發展目標?
讓我們從可持續發展目標 5:性別​​平等開始。

該可持續發展目標旨在“實現性別平等並賦予所有婦女和女孩權力”。 它不僅力求消除對婦女的迫害和歧視,而且通過促進分擔家庭責任,使婦女能夠在家外從事有償工作。

吃得津津有味! 專注於為家庭烹飪製作肉湯的日常實踐,這既耗時又低效。 它問:

如果你把這段時間用於其他事情,你還能做多少其他工作?

它建議通過使用 味之本®,讀者可以將花在廚房的時間減少“一年十五個晝夜”,即 365 小時。 請記住,這是 100 多年前寫的! 今天,我們可以將這種節省時間的創新稱為“生活小竅門”。

從歷史上看,女性在家外從事有償工作的能力與引入更高效的家用電器有關。 直到 1950 年代,當全自動洗衣機普及時,一些男人荒謬地聲稱省力的電器“讓女人變得懶惰”。 想想四十年前市場上已經有一種產品——AJI-NO-MOTO®——旨在讓家務更高效!

但那還不是全部。

負責任的消費和生產:食物浪費在 19 世紀就已經是一個問題了!

現在讓我們看看可持續發展目標 12:負責任的消費和生產。

該可持續發展目標旨在實現“可持續的消費和生產模式,以確保充分利用資源和提高所有人的生活質量”。 具體來說,其目標包括減少零售商和消費者的食物浪費、生產和供應鏈中的食物損失,以及通過減少、回收和再利用產生的廢物。

根據 吃得津津有味! :

用乾鰹魚片或海帶製成的肉湯……儲存時會在夏天變質。

那時的食物保存方法還很原始,這意味著食物經常變質,不得不扔掉,尤其是在炎熱的天氣裡。 但 吃得津津有味! 提供了一個解決方案:

味之本® 即使多年後也不會變質或改變它的味道。

換句話說,自從 AJI-NO-MOTO® 可以長期存放,夏天可以用來避免變質的食物被扔掉。

你必須同意,這種“可持續”的想法遠遠領先於它的時代!

事實上,今天同樣如此。 如果每個人都開始用乾鰹魚片和海帶製作自己的肉湯,而不是使用像 AJI-NO-MOTO 這樣的鮮味調味料®,這將不可避免地導致食物消費效率降低和食物浪費增加。 當然,沒有什麼能比得上自製肉湯,花時間和精力用新鮮的食材從頭開始烹飪真是太好了。 我是它的大力支持者。 但我們也不應該批評那些不會或不會做飯的人。 一些對方便食品最響亮的批評者是那些甚至不自己做飯的人。 我覺得這有點奇怪。

很多人都忙於做飯,所以對於那些仍然想在短時間內準備美味和營養餐點的人來說,有很多方便的選擇真是太好了。 另外,如果它可以幫助減少食物浪費,還有什麼更好的呢?

為所有人實現一個更可持續的未來是人類在 21 世紀面臨的最大挑戰。 今天的SDGs和百年老店吃什麼好吃! 有共同點? 簡單地說,“食物”、“鮮味”和“美味”是普遍的和必不可少的。

我們希望每個閱讀本網站的人都能認同並從一個多世紀前日本那個時代對烹飪的熱愛中獲得啟發。

對於今天、明天和未來所有繼承這一傳統的廚師,我們說,“吃得很香!

Unlocking the power of amino acids to resolve food and health issues

The Ajinomoto Group, unlocking the power of amino acids, aims to resolve the food and health issues
associated with dietary habits and aging, and contribute to greater wellness for people worldwide.

Oishiku meshi-agare! (“Eat deliciously!”)

Oishiku meshi-agare!—literally, “Eat deliciously!”

Or, as we might say today, “Enjoy your meal!”

From the cook in the kitchen to the diner at the table,

these magic words bring everyone good cheer.

1. Why we say "Eat Deliciously!"

At the beginning of the twentieth century, modernization was transforming Japan.

Newly founded Ajinomoto Co. wanted to share with people the joy of cooking, the happiness in partaking of a delicious meal.

So, in 1910, we published a booklet on cooking.

It was called Eat Deliciously!

Today, over 110 years later, our desire to spread joy and happiness hasn’t changed.

We’re living in tumultuous, unprecedented times.
So, more than ever, we want people to enjoy their food and to eat well.
This is behind everything the Ajinomoto Group does.

We will continue to help more people “Eat deliciously!”

For those special people in your life.
For those friends you’re thinking of but cannot meet.
For your co-workers, and, most of all, for yourself.
We want you to join us in saying, “Eat deliciously!

2. The idea behind our Eat Deliciously Project

AJI-NO-MOTO® umami seasoning—the product on which our company was founded—was born at a time when Japan’s old, traditional values were changing rapidly.

But, even back then, one thing Japanese people could all agree on was the importance of sharing delicious food together.

We were reminded once again of this love of cooking, so deeply rooted in Japanese culture, by this little booklet published over a century ago.

Our Eat Deliciously Project is our way of passing on—to both current and future generations—the joy of cooking, the fun of discovering delicious food, and the happiness of eating together, in gratitude to all those who have supported us over the years.

3. The booklet that helped launch a new seasoning

Eat Deliciously! A century-old booklet on cooking

AJI-NO-MOTO® umami seasoning was launched in 1909. Japan was on the cusp of a new era, one characterized by modernism in popular culture. For ordinary Japanese people, everything imported from the West was, as we might say today, trendy. Western cuisine was being adapted to Japanese tastes, giving rise to a fusion food culture entirely unique to Japan.

It was a vibrant and exciting era, and AJI-NO-MOTO® proved a hit. Before too long, everyone was talking about the modern and fashionable new seasoning. Eat Deliciously! was published to help consumers better understand what it was and how to use it.

In language startlingly familiar to our twenty-first century ears, Eat Deliciously! explained how to use AJI-NO-MOTO® to realize greater “efficiency” and “economy” in the kitchen. For us today, it also affords a rare glimpse into the lives of those early twentieth-century Japanese cooks who enjoyed delicious food and incorporated this most scientifically advanced of seasonings into their new, modern lifestyles.

  • Because it dissolved easily in both hot and cold water, AJI-NO-MOTO® afforded home cooks a convenient way to prepare broth with little time or effort, and it could be stored for years with no diminishment in quality. It was also touted as a miracle flavor enhancer suited to any type of food, from Japanese and Western fare to vegetarian dishes.

    Reported to be “perfectly safe and hygienic,” based on tests conducted by Japan’s Interior Ministry, AJI-NO-MOTO® appealed to the growing number of home cooks to whom hygiene was as important as nutrition and economy.

    It was even recommended to slip a bottle of AJI-NO-MOTO® in one’s bag or pocket when traveling or on the go, so one could always have delicious food even when away from home.

    In those days, broth—both Japanese and Western—was an indispensable ingredient in every middle- to upper-class kitchen. But preparing it morning and evening could easily take an hour per day, or fifteen full days per year. Using AJI-NO-MOTO® instead enabled home cooks to devote that time to other work.

  • In 1908, Dr. Kikunae Ikeda, a professor at Tokyo Imperial University, succeeded in extracting the amino acid glutamate from kombu kelp. He determined that it was the substance responsible for the delicious taste of many foods, starting with kelp broth, and he dubbed this as-yet unknown flavor “umami.” This was the moment when the world came to learn of the existence of a fifth taste, in addition to the four basic ones––sweet, sour, salty, and bitter––recognized at that time. The following year, monosodium glutamate was launched under the brand name AJI-NO-MOTO®, becoming the world’s first umami seasoning.

  • In 1909, AJI-NO-MOTO® was completely unknown. It was, after all, the world’s first umami seasoning—Japanese consumers had never seen anything like it. So, in Eat Deliciously!, Ajinomoto Co. set out to explain exactly what AJI-NO-MOTO® was and how to use it. The booklet’s title was carefully chosen to convey the message that AJI-NO-MOTO® could make daily meals more enjoyable for cooks and diners alike.

    by Mioko Hatanaka, Food Journalist

How to Use AJI-NO-MOTO®

Actually, there are no special rules for how to use AJI-NO-MOTO® since it is just a time-saving broth extract. It can be added to either Japanese or Western cuisine, as well as confectionery, vinegar, soy sauce, and all manner of foods and seasonings, in as strong or weak proportion as you like. So long as you have a bottle of AJI-NO-MOTO® on your dining table or in your kitchen, travel bag, or pocket, you will never be in want of delicious food no matter where you are.

At home: Western families always prepare bouillon for seasoning dishes, while Japanese families use broth made from dried bonito flakes or kelp, both of which take a long time to prepare and can spoil in summer when stored. Nowadays, in Japan, any middle-class family or above will have dishes on the table made with both Western- and Japanese-style broth, so a housewife must always prepare both types. Ladies, you don’t know how much time you’re wasting. Habit is a terrible thing, and if you do this every day and every night, you might not think much of it. But assuming you spend an hour per day between dawn and dusk, that’s more than fifteen days and nights a year you are wasting. How much other work would you be able to do if you used this time for something else? Count Okuma’s household, which is rumored to have a model kitchen, has for some time been using AJI-NO-MOTO® as recommended by Dr. Aoyama. Also, at the home of Gensai Murai, the author of books on gastronomy, a bottle of AJI-NO-MOTO® is said to be put on the table at every meal.

The elderly, children, and the sick: The elderly and children are often difficult to feed, and the sick are particularly troublesome. For them, AJI-NO-MOTO® is the most suitable seasoning. Dr. Kinnosuke Miura of the medical university told Mrs. Gensai Murai, “AJI-NO-MOTO® is made by breaking down proteins in amino acids. If you give a soup made from it to a sick person who doesn’t care for meat soup, he will gladly drink it.” Mrs. Gensai then said that if she knew of someone who was sick, she would be sure to tell them about it.

Vegetarian cuisine: AJI-NO-MOTO® is the most suitable seasoning for vegetarian cuisine, which eschews fishy odors. As explained elsewhere in this text, it is made from wheat, soybeans, and other plant-based ingredients, so it does not contain any impurities. For this reason, we are honored to receive requests for AJI-NO-MOTO® from Her Imperial Highness Abbess Murakumo and many of the priests of Mount Koya.

4. AJI-NO-MOTO® and the advent of Japanese home-cooking

Let’s begin with a brief history of eating habits in Japan from the late nineteenth to early twentieth century.

Starting with the Meiji Restoration of 1868––when Japan’s feudal government was replaced with a Western-style constitutional monarchy––Japan underwent a period of rapid modernization. Food was no exception. With the lifting of the ancient prohibition on eating meat, and the introduction of Western cuisine, the Japanese diet underwent major changes. Over the next several decades, a culture of home cooking arose, and the role of the Japanese housewife was established.

Up until 1868, cooking had been considered man’s work. The kitchens of all the great samurai houses of Edo (now Tokyo) were staffed by men, while the lower-ranking samurai who attended them were expected to cook for themselves. Although women in agricultural and mercantile families were in charge of preparing meals, this was not so much home cooking as we think of it today, but closer to subsistence living.

Preparing delicious meals becomes a housewife's duty

With the advance of industrialization after 1868, men increasingly found work outside the home in offices or factories, while women stayed at home caring for children, cooking, and doing housework. This was the origin of Japan’s modern family structure, with clearly defined gender roles. Around the same time, the study of home economics was introduced from the West. Girls’ secondary education was developed to teach cooking, sewing, and childrearing to young women, with the goal of making them into “good wives and wise mothers,” as the saying went. In 1882, Japan’s first cooking school for housewives, the Akahori Cooking School was opened, and it continues to this day.

During these decades, the idea took root that a housewife’s duty was to prepare and serve delicious, economical meals. Every year, more and more cookbooks aimed at home cooks were published. At first, these were modeled on cookbooks for professional chefs. But gradually, a new concept of home cooking emerged that incorporated Japanese, Western, as well as Chinese cuisine.

The 3 pillars of home cooking: nutrition, hygiene, and economy

Toward the end of the nineteenth century, as Western scientific knowledge became more widespread, greater emphasis was placed not just on taste and variety but also nutrition and hygiene. In addition to economy, these became the pillars of Japanese home cooking.

Customs around dining were also changing. Families belonging to Japan’s burgeoning urban middle-class adopted the practice of eating together, seated on the floor around a low dining table, instead of from individual trays, as was the former custom. As this practice spread nationwide, observers pointed approvingly to the social and psychological benefits of family dining.

The growing numbers of urban middle-class housewives, educated at the country’s girls’ schools to be “good wives and wise mothers,” pored over cookbooks and women’s magazines, diligently honing their home cooking skills to make healthier, more delicious food for their families.

Starting in the 1910s, gas, electricity, and running water became an increasingly common feature in middle-class homes, and modern kitchens were introduced for the first time in Japan. These enabled home cooks to work standing up, as opposed to squatting on the floor as in traditional Japanese kitchens. In 1913, the monthly magazine Ryori no Tomo (Friends of Cooking) was launched, introducing a variety of Japanese, Western, and Chinese recipes aimed at home cooks.

Stoves in traditional Japanese kitchens were very low and cooking was done while squatting on the floor.

Just at this time, when access to modern amenities and accurate dietary information was raising the level of home cooking, AJI-NO-MOTO® was launched to meet the needs of home cooks. It proved a great success.

Eat Deliciously! is a living testament to people’s love of food and cooking in those distant times. That much hasn’t changed. For us, it’s exciting to think of men and women, just like us, whether home cooks or professional chefs, cooking with AJI-NO-MOTO® for the very first time. What delicious meals did they create with it, and what was their reaction when they tasted it? One can only imagine!

  by Mioko Hatanaka, Food Journalist

5. Contributing to sustainable cooking for over 100 years

What can Eat Deliciously! teach us about social issues?
AJI-NO-MOTO® ’s century of commitment to SDGs

by Ken Ogiso

Mr. Ken Ogiso

I don’t know about you, but the first word that came to mind when I saw this reprint of Eat Deliciously! was “SDGs.”

But before I explain, perhaps an introduction is in order.

My name is Ken Ogiso and I’m a specialist on internet literacy. I give lectures and write books on social networking and various aspects of our digital lives. In other words, cooking is not my bailiwick. So, why am I participating in the Eat Deliciously Project?

When I was younger, I used to eat a lot of udon noodle soup, and the chef at one restaurant I frequented gave me a recipe for udon noodles with spicy cod roe (mentaiko). But the first time I tried to make it myself, somehow the taste just wasn’t right. Something was missing. So, I sprinkled a bit of AJI-NO-MOTO® on top, and suddenly the flavors all came together––it tasted amazing!

Last year, the Ajinomoto Group invited me to participate in its First Food & Wellness Future Forum. I was fascinated to learn about the long history of AJI-NO-MOTO® umami seasoning. Afterward, I wanted to find out even more. So, when I heard that the original Eat Deliciously! booklet—published in 1909, just after AJI-NO-MOTO® was invented—was going to be reprinted, I begged the company to let me become involved in the project.

Anyway, getting back to the subject of SDGs, lately we’ve been hearing about these a lot, but not everyone may know exactly what they are.

SDGs—or Sustainable Development Goals—are a collection of 17 international goals adopted by the United Nations General Assembly six years ago, in 2015, for all countries around the world to work toward. The SDGs are designed to serve as “a blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all people and the world by 2030.” You can find out all about them online at https://sdgs.un.org or by searching up “SDGs”.

You’ve probably been seeing this chart a lot lately. The seventeen colored tiles each represent a different SDG. Since 2019, when the Japanese government called on the private sector to cooperate in helping Japan reach its targets, more and more companies have launched their own SDG-related initiatives. Now, companies and organizations everywhere are using their respective expertise to work toward achieving these goals.

Working toward gender equality: AJI-NO-MOTO® is a 100-year-old life hack!

So what’s the connection between Eat Deliciously! and SDGs?
Let’s begin with Sustainable Development Goal 5: Gender Equality.

This SDG aims “to achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.” It does so by seeking not only to eradicate persecution and discrimination against women, but also to enable women to perform paid work outside the home by promoting shared domestic responsibilities.

Eat Deliciously! focuses on the daily practice of making broth for home cooking, which was time consuming and inefficient. It asks:

How much other work would you be able to do if you used this time for something else?

It suggests that by using AJI-NO-MOTO®, readers could reduce the amount of time spent in the kitchen by “fifteen days and nights a year,” or 365 hours. Remember, this was written over 100 years ago! Today, we might call this time-saving innovation a “life hack.”

Historically, the ability of women to perform paid work outside the home has been tied to the introduction of more efficient home appliances. As late as the 1950s, when fully automated washing machines were becoming widespread, some men ludicrously claimed that labor-saving appliances “make women lazy.” And to think that four decades earlier there was already a product on the market––AJI-NO-MOTO®––aimed at making housework more efficient!

But that’s not all.

Responsible consumption and production: Food waste was already a problem in the 19th century!

Now let’s look at Sustainable Development Goal 12: Responsible consumption and production.

This SDG is aimed at achieving “sustainable consumption and production patterns to ensure good use of resources and a better quality of life for all.” Specifically, its targets include reducing food waste by retailers and consumers, food loss along production and supply chains, and waste generation through reduction, recycling, and reuse.

According to Eat Deliciously! :

Broth made from dried bonito flakes or kelp…can spoil in summer when stored.

Methods of food preservation were still quite primitive in those days, meaning food often went bad and had to be thrown away, especially in hot weather. But Eat Deliciously! offered a solution:

AJI-NO-MOTO® will never spoil or change its taste even after many years.

In other words, since AJI-NO-MOTO® can be stored for a long time, in summertime it could be used to avoid having to throw away spoiled food.

You’ll have to agree that this “sustainable” thinking was way ahead of its time!

Indeed, the same applies today. If everyone started making their own broth from dried bonito flakes and kelp instead of using umami seasonings like AJI-NO-MOTO®, it would inevitably lead to less efficient food consumption and increased food waste. Of course, nothing can beat home-made broth, and taking the time and effort to cook from scratch using fresh ingredients is wonderful. I’m a big proponent of it. But neither should we criticize those who can’t or don’t cook. Some of the loudest critics of convenience foods are people who don’t even cook themselves. I think that’s a little strange.

Many people are too busy to cook, so it’s great there are convenient options for people who still want to prepare delicious and nutritious meals in a short time. Plus, if it can help reduce food waste, what could be better?

Realizing a more sustainable future for all is the greatest challenge facing humanity in the 21st century. What do today’s SDGs and the century-old Eat Deliciously! have in common? Simply that “food,” “umami,” and “deliciousness” are universal and essential.

It is our hope that everyone who reads this website will identify with, and be inspired by the love of cooking that grew out of that era in Japan over a century ago.

And to all the cooks who carry on that tradition today, tomorrow, and into the future, we say, “Eat deliciously!