什么是味精,如何制成?

什么是味精?

最受欢迎的调味剂和增味剂味精或味精是鲜味的最纯净形式,是第五种味道。 味精(味精)被广泛用于增强和增强酱汁,肉汤,汤和许多其他食物中的鲜味。 它也可以用作盐的部分替代品,盐仅含钠的三分之一,并且被美国食品药品监督管理局和世界卫生组织列为安全食品。 最初主要与亚洲美食相关的味精(味精)现在在世界范围内被使用,以带出美味的食物风味。

鲜味(Umami)和味精(MSG)是同一枚硬币的两个方面:它们都为我们提供相同的味觉体验,都带有谷氨酸盐。 味精中的谷氨酸在化学上与动植物蛋白中存在的谷氨酸没有区别,我们的身体以相同方式代谢两种谷氨酸来源。 想想盐和咸味。 许多食物都咸,但是舌头上夹一点盐会带给您最咸的味道。 当您食用味精时,它只会触发一种味觉-鲜味。

味之素集团已经​​生产了无味的白色结晶粉末,被称为味精,已有一个多世纪的历史了,如今在全世界的厨房橱柜中都有发现。

味精由什么制成?

味精是如何制成的

如今,味之素集团生产的味精(味精)是通过发酵甘蔗,甜菜,木薯或玉米等植物性成分而生产的。 MSG是谷氨酸的钠盐,它是最常见的天然氨基酸之一。 谷氨酸在人体中大量产生,并存在于我们每天食用的许多食物中,包括肉,鱼,蛋和奶制品,以及西红柿,玉米和坚果。 当含有谷氨酸的蛋白质例如通过发酵分解时,它变成谷氨酸。 谷氨酸激活我们的味觉感受器,引起被称为鲜味的美味咸味。

味精如何制成?

1908年,一个晚餐会的一个晚上,味之素集团的一位创始人,生物化学家池田喜乃惠博士问了他的妻子,这将改变食物的历史:是什么使她的蔬菜和豆腐汤具有了美味的肉味? 池田太太指着称为 海布或海带,用来做她的传统日文 鱼汤或肉汤。 受此启示启发,池田博士开始工作。 蒸发和治疗妻子的 海布 汤中,他能够提取出一种结晶化合物,结果证明是谷氨酸。 品尝晶体后,他认识到他配音的独特咸味 鲜味,基于日语单词 UMI (美味的)。 池田博士很快申请了一项专利,以一种易于使用的形式生产鲜味:味精(味精)。

次年,味精在日本市场上推出了味精,开始了业务。 首先,它是通过面筋水解以提取小麦蛋白而生产的。 然后在1930年代,人们开始从大豆中提取味精。 在1960年代,生产过程转移到甘蔗和类似农作物的细菌发酵过程中,就像奶酪,酸奶和葡萄酒的生产过程一样。

发酵过程如何运作?

玉米和木薯淀粉的味精发酵
发酵产生的味精

数百年来,人类一直使用发酵作为保存食物和增强其口味的一种方式。 味精(味精)是由自然产生的物质通过现代方法制成的,并借助微生物将甘蔗等原料转化为食品。 首先,将甘蔗提取为葡萄糖并送入发酵罐,然后向其中添加发酵微生物。 这些微生物消耗葡萄糖,释放出谷氨酸,尽管中和,但谷氨酸变成了含有味精的溶液。 然后将该溶液脱色并过滤,得到纯净的MSG溶液。 使用蒸发器将纯溶液结晶,干燥晶体,得到最终产物MSG。 整个过程对环境的影响很小,因为其副产物可以肥料的形式返回土壤,以帮助种植更多的农作物,例如甘蔗,形成良性循环。

味精可能是降低钠含量的关键

简单的食盐氯化钠是导致心血管疾病的最大因素之一。 世界卫生组织已将降低平均盐摄入量30%作为目标。 使用谷氨酸钠(MSG)可能是减少钠含量而不牺牲口味的关键。

味道是盐分摄入过多的主要原因。 尽管人们误认为MSG的钠含量很高,但它仅含三分之一的食盐钠(MSG含约12%的钠,而食盐含39%的钠),它可以增强咸味,同时保持适口性。 加入味精后,食品中的钠含量可降低多达40%,同时又保持风味。

研究还表明,味精等味精可用于降低鸡肉汤中的11%钠和辛辣汤中的32.5%钠。 味精也可以减少黄油,人造黄油和奶酪中的钠,类似的方法也可以用于肉制品。 味精还可以用于休闲食品和调味品中,例如,有助于将巴西大蒜和盐香料调味料中的钠含量降低多达50%。

MSG已被美国FDA和FAO / WHO食品添加剂联合专家委员会列为安全食品。 使用味精可以帮助食品科学家减少钠含量而不牺牲口味,此外,它还可以创造出新的,具有成本效益的,减少盐分的产品和菜单,从而鼓励消费者做出更健康的选择。

味精安全吗?

AJI-NO-MOTO®的主要成分味精(味精)的安全性得到了FDA(美国食品药品监督管理局)和美国化学学会(ACS)的肯定。

相关文章:

请参阅我们的新闻通讯:

了解有关味精的更多信息:

What is MSG and how is it made?

What is MSG?

A popular seasoning and flavor enhancer, MSG, or monosodium glutamate, is the purest form of umami, the fifth taste. MSG (monosodium glutamate) is widely used to intensify and enhance umami flavors in sauces, broths, soups and many more foods. It can also be used as a partial replacement for salt, containing just one-third the sodium, and is classed as safe by the United States Food and Drug Administration and the World Health Organization. Originally associated mainly with Asian cuisines, MSG (monosodium glutamate) is now used around the world to bring out the delicious flavor of foods.

Umami and MSG are two sides of the same coin: they both give us the same taste experience, both with glutamate. The glutamate in MSG is chemically indistinguishable from the glutamate present in animal and plant proteins, and our bodies metabolize both sources of glutamate in the same way. Think of salt and saltiness. Many foods taste salty, but a pinch of salt on your tongue gives you the purest taste of saltiness. When you eat MSG it triggers only one taste sensation–umami.

The Ajinomoto Group has produced the odorless white crystalline powder known as MSG for over a century, and today it is found in kitchen cupboards worldwide.

What is MSG made of?

How Is Msg Made

Today, the MSG (monosodium glutamate) produced by the Ajinomoto Group is produced through fermentation of plant-based ingredients such as sugar cane, sugar beets, cassava or corn. MSG is the sodium salt of glutamic acid, one of the most common naturally occurring amino acids. Glutamic acid is produced in abundance in our bodies and found in many foods we eat every day, including meat, fish, eggs and dairy products, as well as tomatoes, corn and nuts. When a protein containing glutamic acid is broken down, for example through fermentation, it becomes glutamate. Glutamate activates our taste receptors, eliciting the delicious savory taste known as umami.

How is MSG made?

One evening over dinner in 1908, one of the Ajinomoto Group’s founders, biochemist Dr. Kikunae Ikeda, asked his wife a question that would change the history of food: What gave her vegetable and tofu soup its delicious meaty flavor? Mrs. Ikeda pointed to the dried seaweed called kombu, or kelp, that she used to make her traditional Japanese dashi, or broth. Inspired by this revelation, Dr. Ikeda set to work. Evaporating and treating his wife’s kombu broth, he was able to extract a crystalline compound, which turned out to be glutamic acid. Tasting the crystals, he recognized a distinct savory flavor he dubbed umami, based on the Japanese word umai (delicious). Dr. Ikeda soon filed a patent to produce umami in an easy-to-use form: MSG (monosodium glutamate).

The following year, the Ajinomoto Group got its start as MSG was launched on the Japanese market. At first it was produced through the hydrolysis of gluten to extract wheat protein. Then in the 1930s there was a shift to extracting MSG from soy beans. In the 1960s production moved to the bacterial fermentation of sugar cane and similar crops in a process much like the way cheese, yogurt and wine are produced.

How does the fermentation process work?

MSG Fermentation By Corn And Cassava Starch
Msg Is Produced By Fermentation

Fermentation has been used by humans for centuries as a way to preserve foods and enhance their taste. MSG (monosodium glutamate) is made of naturally occurring substances through a modern version of that process, with the help of microbes that transform feedstocks like sugarcane into food products. First the sugarcane is extracted as glucose and sent to a fermentation tank, to which fermentative microbes are then added. These microbes consume the glucose, releasing glutamic acid, which though neutralization is turned into a solution that contains MSG. This solution is then decolorized and filtered, resulting in a pure MSG solution. This pure solution is crystallized using an evaporator and the crystals dried to produce the final product—MSG. The entire process has a very small environmental footprint, as its coproducts can be returned to the soil in the form of fertilizer to help grow more crops like sugarcane, forming a virtuous cycle.

MSG can be the key to reducing sodium content

Simple table salt, sodium chloride, is one of the biggest contributors to cardiovascular disease. Reducing average salt intake by 30% has been adopted as a target by the World Health Organization. The use of monosodium glutamate (MSG) can be the key to reducing sodium content without sacrificing taste.

Taste is a major driver of excess salt intake. Although MSG is mistakenly thought of as being high in sodium, it contains just one third the sodium of table salt (MSG contains approximately 12 percent sodium while table salt contains 39 percent sodium) It can enhance the perception of saltiness while preserving palatability. With the addition of MSG, sodium level in the food can be lowered by up to 40 percent while maintaining the flavor.

Research has also shown that umami-eliciting compounds like MSG can be used to reduce sodium 11% in chicken broth and 32.5% in spicy soups. Sodium reduction in butter, margarine and cheeses can also be achieved with MSG, and a similar approach could work in meat products. MSG could also be used in snack foods and condiments, for example helping reduce the sodium content of Brazilian garlic and salt spice seasonings by up to 50%.

MSG has been classed as safe by the US FDA and the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives. The use of MSG may help food scientists reduce sodium content without sacrificing taste, in addition to creating new, cost-effective, reduced-salt products and menus that will encourage consumers to make healthier choices.

Is MSG safe?

The safety of MSG (monosodium glutamate), the main ingredient of AJI-NO-MOTO®, has been affirmed by the FDA (US Food and Drug Administration) and the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Related articles:

See Our Newsletter:

Learn More About MSG: