رسالة من الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي

الصورة مقدمة من Food Square Kasumi Aeon Town Moriya

أصحاب المصلحة الأعزاء

أعتقد أن السعي وراء الاستدامة هو رحلة ستستمر إلى الأبد. في حين أن البيئة والاجتماعية والحوكمة (ESG) هي وسيلة ستوصلنا إلى وجهة أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs) ، فإن عام 2030 هو مجرد نقطة عبور. عندما يتم تعيين وجهات جديدة في الوقت الذي نسعى فيه إلى جعل العالم مكانًا أفضل ، فقد تصبح ESG وأهداف التنمية المستدامة شائعة جدًا لدرجة أنها قد تختفي من مفرداتنا.

في عام 1899 ، عندما درس الدكتور كيكوناي إيكيدا من جامعة طوكيو الإمبراطورية في الخارج في ألمانيا ، تفاجأ بالحالة البدنية والغذائية للشعب الألماني في ذلك الوقت ، والتي تطورت إلى رغبة قوية في تحسين تغذية الشعب الياباني. أطلق Saburosuke Suzuki II ، الذي شاركنا هذه الرغبة ، أعمالنا في عام 1909 بإصدار أول توابل أومامي في العالم تسمى آجي نو موتو®. يمكن العثور على جذور مجموعة Ajinomoto Group في طموحنا التأسيسي المتمثل في "Eat Well، Live Well". تعتبر إدارة ASV (مجموعة Ajinomoto Group Creating Shared Value) شكلاً من أشكال الإدارة التي تطمح إلى خلق قيمة اجتماعية واقتصادية. تم تعييني رئيسًا ومديرًا تنفيذيًا في عام 2015 عندما تم اعتماد أهداف التنمية المستدامة. بصفتي قائد شركة متعددة الجنسيات ، وكشركة منخرطة بعمق في مجال الغذاء ، فأنا ملتزم بالمساهمة في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

أعلنا في عام 2020 أننا سنحول مجموعة Ajinomoto Group إلى "مجموعة شركات تقدم حلولًا لقضايا الغذاء والصحة" بحلول عام 2030 للوفاء بالتزامنا الصريح بتطوير إدارة ASV. نسعى لتحقيق نتيجتين بحلول عام 2030 - للمساعدة في إطالة متوسط ​​العمر المتوقع الصحي لمليار شخص وتقليل تأثيرنا البيئي بنسبة 50٪.

تطبق الإدارة سياسة "التغذية بدون حل وسط" في الذوق ، والوصول إلى الغذاء (التوافر) ، وطريقة الحياة المحلية ، والعنصر الأساسي لخلق القيمة في هذه المجالات هو قوة الأحماض الأمينية. يشكل البروتين حوالي 20٪ من جسم الإنسان ، وما يصل إلى 50٪ عند استبعاد الماء في أجسامنا. البروتينات هي سلاسل من الأحماض الأمينية ، ونحن نبحث عن الأحماض الأمينية منذ أكثر من 100 عام. تؤدي الأحماض الأمينية أربع وظائف مهمة ، بما في ذلك النكهة لجعل الأطعمة لذيذة المذاق ، والتغذية لمساعدة الجسم على النمو والتطور ، والوظائف الفسيولوجية لمساعدة الجسم على العمل بشكل صحيح. نحن نطبق علمنا الحيوي الرائد وتقنياتنا الكيميائية الدقيقة لدعم وجبات لذيذة ومتوازنة من الناحية التغذوية باستخدام وظائف الأحماض الأمينية لخلق أطعمة لذيذة منخفضة الملح وتعزز تناول البروتين. يعتبر تناول الملح الزائد وعدم كفاية العناصر الغذائية الأساسية مثل البروتين من المشاكل التغذوية في جميع أنحاء العالم. بصفتنا الشركة الرائدة عالميًا في التوابل القائمة على أومامي ، نعتقد أن مجموعة Ajinomoto يمكنها استخدام نقاط قوتنا في التقنيات المتعلقة بالأحماض الأمينية لمعالجة هاتين المسألتين لصالح المجتمع ولتحقيق نمو عضوي للمجموعة.

أعتقد أن نظامنا الغذائي يتجه نحو نقطة أزمة في عام 2050 ، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالتغذية والإمدادات الغذائية المستدامة. يمكن أن يصبح الضرر غير قابل للتغيير إذا لم تتخذ صناعة الأغذية العالمية إجراءات الآن للحد من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة العالمية إلى ما دون 2 ℃ بحلول عام 2030. ويجب علينا أيضًا مواصلة بذل كل جهد للمساعدة في معالجة القضايا البيئية والاجتماعية وإلا فسيكون نمونا المستدام في خطر. تتمثل إحدى القضايا الرئيسية بالنسبة لنا في الحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري ، ونحن ندرك أن هذا يستلزم فهم وتقليل الانبعاثات في جميع أنحاء سلسلة التوريد بأكملها.

نحن نراقب بالفعل الانبعاثات الصادرة عن شركتنا ومن موردي المواد الخام المباشرين لدينا ، لكن الأمر سيستغرق عدة سنوات حتى نتمكن من استيعاب الوضع الفعلي لانبعاثات النطاق 3 وتحسينه على مستوى مصادر الموردين وعلى مستوى المستهلك. بالنسبة للمواد الخام الرئيسية ، نحن نعمل مع منتدى السلع الاستهلاكية (CGF) * والحكومات الوطنية والمنظمات غير الحكومية وغيرها لمعالجة المشكلات بالإضافة إلى تشكيل إرشادات الشراء وإنشاء نظام تتبع.

* شبكة صناعية تضم حوالي 400 من مصنعي السلع الاستهلاكية وتجار التجزئة حول العالم

في أبريل 2021 ، أنشأنا المجلس الاستشاري الجديد للاستدامة الذي يعمل تحت إشراف مجلس الإدارة لتعزيز إطار عمل تعزيز الاستدامة لدينا. إنها لجنة من الخبراء اليابانيين وغير اليابانيين الذين يقدمون المشورة لمجلس الإدارة بشأن القضايا ووجهات النظر من وجهات نظر الصحة والتغذية ، والبلدان الناشئة ، وجيل الألفية ، والحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية والمؤثرة والاستثمار المؤثر ، ووسائل الإعلام ولفترة طويلة. - أفق المدى حتى عام 2050. تقوم لجنة الاستدامة ، التي تم إنشاؤها أيضًا في أبريل 2021 وتعمل تحت إشراف اللجنة التنفيذية ، بصياغة خطط التنفيذ وتقوية قدرتنا الإدارية على متابعة الهدف المشترك المتمثل في تحقيق مجتمع مستدام ومجموعة Ajinomoto المستدامة.

أعتقد أن إدارة ASV لدينا تلزمنا ليس فقط بالحفاظ على علاقاتنا الجيدة مع أصحاب المصلحة في سلسلة القيمة لدينا ولكن أيضًا للمضي قدمًا وتبني قضاياهم على أنها قضايانا. نلتزم تجاه عملائنا والمستهلكين بشكل عام بتقديم قيمة لهم من خلال الأطعمة التي تساهم في حياة طويلة وصحية ، لموظفينا لتوفير فرص عمل مستقرة ومكان عمل مجزي وحيث يمكنهم مواصلة تطوير مهاراتهم ، لشركائنا في العمل تقديم فرصة عادلة ، وللمساهمين والمستثمرين لدينا لتحقيق عوائد مستدامة والعمل على تحقيق أهداف خطة الإدارة متوسطة الأجل الخاصة بنا بسرعة.

من خلال المشاركة الفعالة مع أصحاب المصلحة لدينا ، سنبحث عن حلول لقضايا الغذاء والصحة ونساعد في خلق مستقبل مشرق للناس في جميع أنحاء العالم ، والذي يجسد تطلعاتنا في "تناول الطعام بشكل جيد ، والعيش بشكل جيد". ونتطلع إلى استمرار التوجيه والدعم من جميع أصحاب المصلحة.

Takaaki Nishii

مدير ، ممثل تنفيذي ،
الرئيس والرئيس التنفيذي

Message from the President and CEO

Photo courtesy of Food Square Kasumi Aeon Town Moriya

Dear Stakeholders

I think of the pursuit of sustainability as a journey that will continue forever. While environment, social, and governance (ESG) is a means that will bring us to the destination of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), 2030 is merely a transit point. When new destinations are set as we seek to make the world a better place, ESG and the SDGs may become so commonplace that they may even disappear from our vocabulary.

In 1899, when Dr. Kikunae Ikeda of Tokyo Imperial University studied abroad in Germany, he was surprised at the physique and nutritional status of German people at the time, which developed into a strong desire to improve the nutrition of Japanese people. Saburosuke Suzuki II, who shared this desire, launched our business in 1909 with the release of the world’s first umami seasoning called AJI-NO-MOTO®. The roots of the Ajinomoto Group can be found in our founding aspiration of “Eat Well, Live Well.” ASV (The Ajinomoto Group Creating Shared Value) management is a form of management that aspires to create both social and economic value. I was appointed the President and CEO in 2015 when SDGs was adopted. As the leader of a multinational corporation, and as a company deeply involved in food, I am committed to contributing to the achievement of the SDGs.

We announced in 2020 that we will transform the Ajinomoto Group into a “solution-providing group of companies for food and health issues” by 2030 to fulfill our open commitment to advancing ASV management. We are seeking two outcomes by 2030—to help extend the healthy life expectancy of one billion people and to reduce our environmental impact by 50%.

Management is applying a policy of “Nutrition Without Compromise” in taste, food access (availability), and local way of life, and the core element for creating value in these areas is the power of amino acids. Protein makes up approximately 20% of the human body, and as much as 50% when excluding the water in our body. Proteins are chains of amino acids, and we have been researching amino acids for over 100 years. Amino acids serve four important functions, including flavoring to make foods tastes good, nutritional to help the body grow and develop, and physiological to help the body function properly. We are applying our leading-edge bioscience and fine chemical technologies to support delicious and nutritionally balanced meals by using functions of amino acids to create delicious foods that are low-salt and promote protein intake. Excess salt intake and insufficient essential nutrients such as protein are worldwide nutritional issues. As the world leader in umami-based seasonings, we believe the Ajinomoto Group can use our strengths in amino acid-related technologies to address both of these issues for the benefit of society and to generate organic growth for the Group.

I believe our food system is heading toward a crisis point in 2050, particularly for nutrition and sustainable food supply. The damage could become immutable if the global food industry does not take action now to limit the rise in global temperatures to below 2℃ by 2030. We must also continue making every effort to help address environmental and social issues or our own sustainable growth will be in jeopardy. One major issue for us is the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, and we recognize that this entails understanding and cutting emissions throughout the entire supply chain.

We are already monitoring emissions from our company and from our direct raw material suppliers, but it will take several years for us to grasp and improve the actual status of Scope 3 emissions at the suppliers’ sources and on the consumer level. For key raw materials we are working with the Consumer Goods Forum (CGF)*, national governments, NGOs, and others to address issues as well as forming procurement guidelines and creating a traceability system.

* An industry network of about 400 consumer goods manufacturers and retailers around the world

In April 2021, we created the new Sustainability Advisory Council that serves under the Board of Directors to enhance our sustainability promotion framework. It is a panel of Japanese and non-Japanese experts who advise the Board of Directors on issues and perspectives from the points of view of health and nutrition, emerging countries, the millennial generation, ESG and impact investment, and the media and for a long-term horizon to 2050. The Sustainability Committee, also created in April 2021 and serving under the Executive Committee, formulates execution plans and strengthens our management ability to pursue the combined objective of realizing a sustainable society and sustainable Ajinomoto Group.

I believe that our ASV management obliges us to not only maintain our good relations with stakeholders in our value chain but to go further and embrace their issues as our own. We commit to our customers and general consumers to provide value to them through foods that contribute to long and healthy lives, to our employees to provide stable employment and a workplace that is rewarding and where they can continue developing their skills, to our business partners to offer fair opportunity, and to our shareholders and investors to pursue sustainable returns and to work to quickly fulfill the objectives of our Medium-Term Management Plan.

By actively engaging with our stakeholders, we will seek solutions to food and health issues and help create a bright future for people around the world, which embodies our aspiration of “Eat Well, Live Well.” We look forward to the continued guidance and support of all stakeholders.

Takaaki Nishii

Director, Representative Executive Officer,
President & Chief Executive Officer